You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunday Reflection: Who and What do we Align Ourselves With?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

love your reflections here. especially this:

I look at my "place" in this Steemit community, and I am — as I write these words — 640 original posts, 10,700+ comments and sonn 50,000 upvotes "into" my experience here. But the numbers are not my point... my point is that I see that as "just beginning."

I love this "just beginning" aspect. while many would start to think of themselves as "not-a-beginner" with these stats, you're celebrating your continuity while also keeping an open fresh mind.

Who we align ourselves with and our patterns in life slowly but surely form our very lives. Reflecting on how we want to show up is really important. Definitely think through helping the community, that it improves our own environment, so yes it ultimately improves our lives. That's why realizing we have a role in shaping steemit is so important. so many negative posts out there about what is wrong, but like Asher did with his fantastic contest, we can also shine our light of focus on what is right and that, too, will grow. Like in life <3

Happy Mother's Day to your wife!! xx

Sort:  

I have some sort of inner direction that tells me the moment we start to think we "know" something is also the moment we risk falling into a sort of complacency that might cause is to lose everything we have tried to build.

It's a bit like tending a garden (as you guys well know!); if you don't pay attention to a patch of land once you've removed the weeds, those weeds will be right back in a matter of months.

So, in a sense, we are perpetual builders. Or farmers.

I tend to walk the in-between path: I don't pretend that the "bad actors" don't exist, and I don't pretend everything is just one long party... on the other hand, part of my mission in blogging here is showing people how the things we see as "terrible" can sometimes be an invitation and a catalyst to taking action for the better.

Thanks for the good wishes, and congratulations again on being the winning pick in Asher's contest! It gives me joy to see the post has made it to near the top.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85