The sorrows of the little one!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

This is an amazing story that was told to me by a granny. She was around the age of 80. It is a very touching one. Please read it and you'll understand what people go through especially in village areas of Africa.

I was within my home village when I met this granny(Old woman). She was so weak and looked sickly. I took her arm and we walked slowly towards a boda boda (Motorcycle) .

She kept thanking me for the kindness I showed to her. 'It's nothing', I told her..... "I just try to treat every woman the way I'd want my mother to be treated."

'Oh, you're such a nice boy, she said. When we got on the boda boda (Motorcycle), she gave me an address asked to her place.

'It's quite long journey,' I said.

'Oh, I don't mind,' she said. 'I'm in no hurry. I just want to reach home.

I looked in the mirror. Her eyes were glistening. 'I don't have any family left,' she continued in a soft voice..'The doctor says I don't have very longtime to live this life.'

'What route would you like me to take?' I asked.

For the next two hours, we took a dusty road. She showed me the building where she operated a wheat flour milling machine 25 years ago.

We went through the neighborhood where she and her husband had lived when they're newlyweds.

Sometimes she would ask me to drop off the motorcycle in front of a particular building or corner and would sit staring, saying nothing.

As the time went on fast, she suddenly said, 'I'm tired. Let's go now'. We rode in silence to the address she had given me. It was a hut made from mud and wattle, it was in a horrible condition. The sample I can make is below in this picture.
abandoned-homestead-in-the-gonja-triangle-damango-district-ghana-BNHEDA.jpg
Image Credit

From the hut , there came a little boy who was between the age of 8 to 10 years. He must have been expecting her.

I helped her off the motorcycle.

'How much do I owe you?' She asked.

'Nothing,' I said

'Take the little I've,' she said

In my heart I said this was just baby money to hold from such a person.

Almost without thinking, I bent and gave her a hug. She held onto me tightly.

'You gave an old woman a little moment of joy,' she said. 'Thank you.'

I has a simple talk with the little boy and this is what he told me.

"I have been staying with 'jaja' (Grandma) for all my life time. We've lived every good life with her in this hut". Since it was getting dark I had to move back. Immediately after starting my ride. The little boy started screaming jaja has gone. The grandma died. I cried this hurt me so much. The boy was left alone I was puzzled on where to start from since there was no close neighborhood.

My conclusion is that;

We're conditioned to think that our lives revolve around great moments and sorrows.

@wafrica

Sort:  

amazing story. great creativity

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66