Earthships & Self-sufficiency. Journey of discovery Part III: Super Adobe Architecture and beyond (ecoTrain)

in #life7 years ago

0200b399ed467a77475583b3a493e54b--natural-building-green-building.jpg
This is part 3 of my life-journey in learning about sustainable architecture and what experiences came after my time working on an Earthship in India. Please do check out my posts for part 1 & 2 on my blog at

https://steemit.com/life/@mrfunkymonk/earthship-biotecture-and-self-sufficient-housing-my-journey-of-discovery-part-i-ecotrain

https://steemit.com/life/@mrfunkymonk/earthship-biotecture-and-self-sufficient-housing-my-journey-of-discovery-part-ii-ecotrain

In this post, I'd like to share with you the valuable lessons I learnt from a good friend of mine Dan Warburton who eventually became my boss. Also my experience of personal growth through taking a Masters in Architecture: Advanced Environmental and Energy and the incredible people I met along the way working in Super-Adobe architecture and as a manager of a property maintenance company.

It really is a joy to share with you part 3 of my journey as it's an ongoing journey, a driving force in my life that fuels my flame. I hope it can inspire creativity and action for others, in the same way that it has for me.
For those of you who have been awaiting this article, I apologize for it's delayed-release. As mentioned in part 1, I am in the middle of renovating a home in preparation for my first child expected in October.

Life is what we make it! Although I do train myself to focus on the positives, there has been no exclusion of down-time in earlier life. Late 2011 was the end of one of those times. I wasn't sure where I was heading and my dreams were sunk below a sense of creative-scarcity. I remember talking to one of my good party-friends Dan Warburton about just how depressed I felt and gave him a taste of my self-loathing and unappreciation. He bought none of my excuses and responded with shocking tactics. He showed me in a formula of words who I really am and showed me to myself the kind of person I can potentially be. He also helped me quit smoking.

486639_10151955253980716_1606671706_n.jpg

At that time, Dan was considering starting his own company and talked a lot about taking charge of his own life. He had such energy for his ideas and talked constantly about his dreams, which to me was (still is) incredibly inspiring.

I took time to heal. A few months later when things were easier and on a sunny warm day in Brighton, I received a call from Dan to come and meet him for lunch. He proposed the beginning of a new company bringing his years of experience as a tradesman into one place and to start hiring people in an effort to establish his own building maintenance company.
I'll never forget his words that day, and I paraphrase 'Andreas, how would you like to be the operations manager of an entrepreneurial company called Team Super?' Of course, I took the offer! Dan was in my eyes, already a superhero. Teaming with him would be a great experience!
The whole idea was based upon providing homeowners with superior customer service coupled with high standards of work, a clean, friendly and time conscious team of tradesmen to serve the city of Brighton & Hove. I loved it!

413772_10151901235930716_125892163_o.jpg
It was a challenging position to take. I had never done anything like this, and neither had he. We spent the first 6 months creating everything from scratch from systematisation of work processes, building team spirit, logo creation and brand imaging. Even our very own positions.
As a good friend, Dan spoke only about the greatness he saw in me and in other people and that anything below that is an image of a false self. A person should follow their gut and that we only have one life and it must be met with deliberate and positive affirmation. This position above all taught me about professional team-building and working outside of my comfort zone. A skill that I look to pass on and a trait in myself I have learnt to nurture. It also taught me about people management in both its glory and discomfort. Not to mention the skill of running and overseeing construction projects, a job I will never forget!

297145_10150313800681598_1461996669_n.jpg

At the end of that year, I enrolled on a Masters in Architecture: Advanced Environmental and Energy at CAT, Wales. I felt super excited like you wouldn't believe because the school accepted me without a Bachelor or any university degree at all. This also made me extremely nervous, as I knew I had a lot of academic work to do.
546507_10150876031601598_1257102698_n.jpg
536696_10150963803995429_1179889534_n.jpg
384049_10150514709426598_1326587867_n.jpg
380343_10150876056471598_346201680_n.jpg
I had both joy and sorrow studying at CAT. I swore to myself that I would never speak highly of the place after a terrible ending of the course as I eventually did not get the tutorial support I needed due to the school having serious financial issues.
However, studying there gave me that reassuring sense that there are people out there who really do care about the built environment, nature and the greater world we live in. Taking that poetic story of 'eco-worrier' to the academic floor really AND I MEAN REALLY was a wake-up call for me. All of my half-baked ideas about saving the world were hit with a hard academic science and a need for a self-guided road to competence. It taught me how to be analytical in my approach yet practical with my hands. Plus we had some fun!
33966_10150817169550429_678218205_n.jpg

My time in India and particularly with Alex and his Earthship taught me that I lacked knowledge. I knew that I needed to go back to school and better educate myself in architecture and sustainability. I needed to face my fear in order to better meet my dream of building a sustainable house.

11145892_862707733778674_5944375359953356650_n.jpg

Around the end of 2012, I came across an article about Super-Adobe and earthen construction techniques by an organisation called Cal-Earth. I became fascinated with the dome-shaped and organic forms that the buildings took. The article also wrote about the architect Iliona Outram Khalili’s marriage to the late great Nadir Khalili. I had to get in touch and find out if she was active in building courses or had any contacts in the EU!
To my surprise, she was active and in the UK, where she had moved to. She invited me to take part in online conferences and small workshops debating building techniques and the philosophy of construction using the elements.

I was eventually asked to become a board member for her non-for-profit organisation New-Earth UK, to which I gratefully accepted!

10805552_828363920550082_2100701083936900356_n.jpg

The model of New Earth focuses on Super-Adobe education and emergency housing services. Today it has a global outreach which both helps people in need and provides a service to students and clients alike. Being with New Earth has given me the opportunity to learn how to teach people on a construction basis. To hold focus on a physical building project and at the same time pass information to others. It was there I met a lifelong friend and coworker Tommaso Bazzechi. Couldn't think of a better building partner and architect for Super Adobe. New Earth UK are now collaborating with Domoterra in Spain and are holding courses on a continual basis.

18720_833698703346244_8454265949242891991_n.jpg
11665386_833700816679366_8443307675423231498_n.jpg
20934787_1367675919948517_6535224147197610735_o.jpg

Here is their most recent project as posted on Facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/New-Earth-UK-394379843944801/?hc_ref=ARSpjIluh0xm5qOG1kVcK0yGtUUGo3SMaK9pq1f9AePw-7ZaDQRNO9PctjLO5SL_79Q

Check out their website for when and where new courses are happening next.

http://www.new-earth.org.uk/

When you are a group constructing a dome that, itself is based on the laws of physics, a structure that is made of the earth, bound by water and air and fire, something unexpected happens. At least it does for me. By nature of learning and building by hand the group bonds beyond words. It's a process. In some way, it becomes a ceremony. It is something I think that everybody should try. It truly is magical!

11234929_10155753881395224_6116256416311283463_o.jpg

New Earth eventually opened up a job opportunity for me with an associated company called Small Earth in London.

11218477_891767247528956_4479512893071962534_n.jpg 11180600_895384973833850_8849693620729510922_n.jpg

Small Earth has focused their use of Super-Adobe on landscape architecture and building 'playscapes' for school playgrounds across London. There, I learnt first-hand how to sculpt structures like an artist. The core construction team lead by Lajos Macsar and Janos Zoltan Bozo taught me a regimented and disciplined way of building effectively and efficiently. To them and their team, I owe a great deal. and even a shot of Hungarian Palinka (traditional Hungarian Spirit).
Even now as I renovate my home Lajos's lessons have taught me to be a better architect and builder.

Look out for my final post in this series, where I will be sharing with you where my story has taken me to-date studying as an electrician, and where I want to go in the future, to build the dream house! A sustainable, self-sufficient Earthship inspired home.

Sort:  

SO good to read your journey! I m TOTALLY into earthbag also.. My new idea is to hybrid earthship and earthbag which will give great performance with very low cost. I had no idea you were into this too!

and CONGRATS on such a good post!

Thanks brotherman...It feels so good to get this journey down on paper and share it with such an inspiring community of people!
I can't believe (figure of speech) that you are also into the idea of merging Super-Adobe and Earthship techniques! It's something I have deliberated on as a building design for some time now. I like the idea of merging the domes and the greenhouse systems and using the earthbags as retaining walls.
I wonder if we can work together on some research and test projects sometime in the future?

I believe the combination of these two building systems has some amazing advantages: Earth-bags need some type of foundation, whether rocks, concrete, or pounded tires. Building the entire wall of tires, however, takes a lot more effort than superadobe, and is more time-consuming due to leveling, picking the right tires, etc. Also, including a greenhouse (depending on the climate zone) makes a lot of sense in terms of temperature regulation, and food production.

Just caught up on this thread after being away for some weeks. I have too been very intrigued by merging Earthship design with Earth bags, for much the same reasons as @stortebeker. Also been pondering about compacted earth... If any of you have any good resources or books to recommend please let me know. Trying to do as much research as possible while I have time in my hands.

earthbag on a tyre foundation is a GREAT idea! i also reccomend doing them round with an earthbag roof as well ... very cheap and great performance that way..

Hey @mrfunkymonk! I caught your post from ecotrain and am so impressed by it! What an inspirational tale you have my friend! I am so happy to hear how things have worked out for you! I too was in contact with CalEarth when I was living in San Fransisco actually so I am well aware of the incredible things they do! I'm really grateful that this information is getting out there! I believe we need to start taking steps towards a greener Earth and housing seems so obvious to me! I am in the plans of building my own as well... well, have been for years but life keeps intervening. I know the time is coming though and am excited to see stories like this to keep me inspired! Thanks for sharing! I'm looking forward to connecting more over in the group <3

Great to read your post and see all the photos!
I love to read about eco projects and sustainability. Wonderful that the UK is involved too!
The top building looks pretty amazing!
Great to see the work being done in London school playgrounds.
I look forward to your next post about your dream house! :)

Thank you @michellecarter. What interests you in sustainability? Do you have any experience, plans or dreams that you would like to fulfil?

You're welcome!
I work with energy healing, so my interest in sustainability is recycling and supporting companies that are using natural products, fair-trade and eco-friendly, but I feel inspired to read and hear of the amazing eco-projects that are going on!
My dream to live in 'Heaven on Earth' - peace, love and harmony, so working on it!! I'm not a very practical person, but would love to live in a home by the beach that is totally self-sufficient and made of natural products etc.

Your vision is wonderful. Keep on it, we need more people like you. Followed!

Thanks! I'm following you too! ;)

@Mrfunkymonk, I have been away and just now managing to catch up on the next instalment of your story. Thanks for sharing that. Makes me think I might need to go and do some courses to improve my knowledge first hand. Have looked at Domoterra's website but I think a domed construction might be a bit advanced for me at this stage. Are you aware of any organisations in Spain or UK that run courses on super-adobe, earth- bags or similar techniques? If you could share any resources I would be immensely grateful. Thanks

Hi @olayar, I dont think you should think Domoterra's work is too advanced for you buddy. I know the guys and they really do a lot to teach you the technique. About the UK, YES I can recommend New Earth UK. I used to work there and they are often running courses and workshops aroud europe. Lightspeed!

As an architect I would love to build something like that someday. Thanks for sharing!

Its an inspiration to hear an architect say that. So frequently, architects are not in favour of Earthships because of its radical design and stark difference from the conventional model. Great job! The final part of my 4 part-post is now out. Hope that you would have an interest to read it. Followed. https://steemit.com/life/@mrfunkymonk/earthships-and-self-sufficiency-journey-of-discovery-part-iv-present-and-future-visions-ecotrain

Your enthusiasm is infectious. Love the way you rise to the challenges. Plus you gave up smoking. Respect.

Dan was a good influence. Putting my journey down on paper is proving to be a positive thing in a way I didn't quite expect. Going through all the memories and associated emotions and reciting the lessons others have taught me is a truely wonderful thing. An affirmation that lifes journey is what is important.
Thanks again @healingherb

Amazing post Mr. Funky Monk. Lots of votes and no comments, I guess everybody is just in awe and speachless :-)

I have this bell ringing with Cal-Earth, is this a French organisation?

Cheers @bubke. Cal-Earth is a US institute established by the Iranian architect Nader Khalili. There have been interests by communities in France and french speaking nations and you may have come across an article written about Nader or Cal-Earth in that way.

lol.. its because curie came.. so curie has ALL the backup votes from streemian with it.. so you get a LOVELY amount but only one person saw it.. the rest auto vote.. its great for getting good posts up.. but not for engagement!

Going through all the memories and associated emotions and reciting the lessons others have taught me is a truely wonderful thing. An affirmation that lifes journey is what is important.
Thanks again

Thank you @holl.boll. I am happy that this post reflected something meaningful for you.

Wow, what an amazing journey. I feel as though I have so many kinds of orgs I'd love to connect you with. Other than studying a lot about sustainable development in grad school, I ended up working a bit with Engineers Without Borders. In Israel I met a guy who runs a permacukture and eco building program at Kibbutz Lotan in the south. I got to stay in one of their mud dwellings, and fell in love with the whole thing. Recognizing that idealism and imagination don't always square up with scientific facts is a good thing. Lots of people out there trying 'there own thing' without understanding the implications or even hazardous consequences. Anyway, looking forward to reading more from you.

Sorry I didn't give you any praise for this comment back when you wrote it. Means a lot that someone else also recognises that idealism and imagination don't always square up with science. I am all for the whole 'learning by doing, even if it's wrong', but there has to be a balanced approach. To be honest I'd say that I lay on the line in that respect. Sometimes I make foolish newbie mistakes and other times I am logical in approach.

@kingjan please dont spam or you will be flagged / down voted

it REALLY looks like spam my friend.. Spam means you post something totally irrelevant on a comment and link to something else that is not only irrelevant but also potentially advertisment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69928.66
ETH 3631.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21