Old Neighbourhood

in #life6 years ago

IMG_6112.JPG

I was looking through some photo albums that I have in my old iPad (after I had fully charged it). In the album entitled "Halloween Day", there were several snapshots of the old neighbourhood where the kiddo was born. I mean he was born at St Luke's Hospital but this was his first home and neighbourhood.

Here are some of the shots I took on that Halloween Day while walking the dog. I don't remember why I was also carrying my camera on that cold day. Maybe it was because we had been driving around looking at houses on sale and I was feeling sentimental that we could be moving to another neighbourhood.

IMG_6110.JPG

It was a quiet leafy neighbourhood. Neighbours kept to themselves but were caring and friendly. When the kiddo was newborn and knowing a first time mum could be flustered taking care of a baby, neighbours took turns to bring the young family home-cooked dinners.

IMG_6111.JPG

I would often hear very loud roar of trucks thrashing along the road in front of the house. I asked my daughter numerous times why trucks are plying the road all the time but she merely said she has no idea. When I looked out, I couldn't see any truck or big vehicle. This was an old suburb and there was no ongoing property development.

IMG_6113.JPG

I eventually found out or more correctly, realised that the loud roar was actually the sound of very strong wind gushing through the trees lining both sides of the road. Its named "Forest Avenue" not for nothing!

IMG_6114.JPG

We would still drive past the old house and reminence about our short but happy stay there. It's not often now as we live rather a long distance away and it's not home anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62