Avoiding The Sunday Blues: Going to the Beach on the Sea of Japan and Ramen

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Sunday was the last day of my limited summer vacation this year, and naturally, I was feeling a bit down.

It was a bit alarming for me, to be honest, I have been lucky enough not to have that "down" feeling right at the end of the weekend for the last couple years. I teach freelance, and for the most part have gotten to a point where I can just choose the classes I want to teach.

So to shake it, I decided to go to the beach and out for dinner (even though we had just been out the night prior.

IMG_4461.JPG

IMG_4494.JPG
We lucked out and had a lot of room to just do our thing. We set up a little tent and camped out for awhile building sand castles. My daughter loves playing in the sand, still terribly freightened of the water however.

IMG_4476.JPG
More castle building. That dude in the background didn't get the memo it was our beach day ;)


My favorite type of ramen is what I like to refer to as "gut-bomb" ramen. You know, the kind that sticks to your ribs, grows hair on your chest, man food.

So I went with the greasiest ramen Miso "tantanmen" I could think of:

IMG_4453.JPG

Don't worry - I didn't pollute my daughter's arteries with that - she had a fried rice.


My daughter seemed to really enjoy the day out. When I was putting her in the car, she was just staring at me sort of blankly. I said, "What's up, Amy?" with a chuckle. She put her hand in the shape of an L and said, "daddy, wuv you."

That was such a good feeling it's hard to describe - it's not that she never says that, but it's as did she knew it was exactly what I needed to hear.


All photos are original from the author of this post.


Thanks for reading and if you enjoyed please feel free to comment, share and follow. I often write about my time here in Japan.

Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

A very simple and wonderful story of the day. Your Sunday was well spent, and you're good at distracting yourself from the Sunday Bluesy feeling. I wish I'd known how to deal with it properly though.

@travelingtaka - thanks for the kind words!

Don't worry - you'll find it. I just like to try new things - sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66