The Laundromat, knives sold out of the back of a van, NFL picks, and an asshole that double-parked.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Good morning from Japan!

Zoom in a bit and you'll find knives sold out of the back of a van in front of a drug store.

IMG_6301.JPG.JPG

Upon approaching the van I was so excited and couldn't help but take a picture when I saw this scene.

My American instinct took over and I thought, "It's finally happening, my opportunity to by pills or guns out of the back of a van!" (Not that I would buy or condone such activity of course! Fear not active patrons!)

My excitement was followed by massive let down. As an American I guess I expected to walk up and find guns galore, I mean, I did just hear an advertisement for "Glock Season" on my favorite radio station. But then I forgot I was in Japan and not in a dingy alley back home. So knives will have to do, I suppose.

I mean, should the bright yellow boards exclaiming "kitchen knives sale" been a signal? Probably. Whatever. Hindsight is 20/20, guy.


Oh! Speaking of hindsight is 20/20 - Let's talk NFL picks!

So I bet on Thursday night. I have this rule, " DON'T BET ON THURSDAY NIGHT GAMES UNLESS IT IS THANKSGIVING AND YOUR BROTHER-IN-LAWS TEAM IS PLAYING AND YOU BET THE FARM AGAINST THEM!!!!!!"

Well, I didn't take my own advice and I put money down on Tennessee (+7) and oh, lord! It was looking so good until the fourth quarter. Oh yeah, and I put money down on Tennessee over on points (17.5) Ohhhhhh, why Mariota? Why the rocket passes, why?!?!?! 4 picks? Come on, bro.

I figured if I broke one rule, might as well break some others, I mean, it can't all go bad right? Yep, I'll stick with that. With that in mind:

Justin's betting rule number 1:

Thou shall not bet on two bad teams playing each other.
They are bad, bad things happen.

With that in mind, my "Hot Shot Call of the Week" is none other than Denver (-3) over the Cincy bungles.

Justin's betting rule number 2:

Thou shall not bet against Bill Belichik and Tom Brady.

So this week I'm taking Oakland (-7) to cover. Why? I'm still not sure. Maybe because it's in Mexico and I got a good ol' fashioned feeling. (Just like Thursday)


This post was about a laundromat, right?

Today, I'm starting my day off at the laundromat.
IMG_6298.JPG.JPG

Unfortunately, my daughter caught (yet another) ((I know, I know. This is part of life)) virus at daycare and subsequently threw up four or five times last night? Not sure - it's pretty fuzzy. Anyhow, millions of sheets, blankets and clothes later, here I am.

A view from a typical laundromat here in Niigata, Japan:

Luckily for me, these machines are a piece of cake to use. All-in-one machines that add soap, softener, wash & dry your clothes with the press of a button at your disposal, folks.

Now, you may be thinking, do I have 16kg worth of crap? 30kg? What should I do?

どうしよう.jpg
image source

Fear not! Signs telling you how to wash your own laundry are everywhere! No mom needed!
(Justin you sexist pig, dad's can teach you that too you know!)
IMG_6299.JPG.JPG

But, it wasn't always smooth sailing...

As you can probably imagine here in Japan, parking isn't always easy to come by, at this particular place, there is a couple spots to park. But lo and behold! An elderly woman double parks!

IMG_6295.JPG.JPG
Well, at least she didn't drive through a convenience store but undeterred still entered the store and asked to by a pack of cigarrettes this like this fellow: story

Well, that's all for now. Hope you enjoyed.

How are the laundromats these days where you are at? Expensive? Convenient? Dirty? Clean? Hot dudes and chicks dry humping like that old smirnoff commercial? Not here I'm afraid...

I know, I know. What guy that likes girls drinks smirnoff?
You know, here in Japan... Ah, I'll save that for another blog...

Sort:  

I read the post, but I would have voted for it just for the title. Thanks for the laugh!

@driptorchpress - Much obliged! Glad you enjoyed it!

Well, he backed in. So no rules broken.

@boxcarblue - speaking of backed in - parking round 2 - teehee

IMG_6305.jpg.jpg

I guess he forgot he was driving a K-car and not his full-size family van. Geez... Talking about coming up short.

Or lack there of, I should say

A book title came to me the other day and it it was something like:

Coexisting with the Hopelessly Inept: A Guide to Driving in Niigata

It is truly dangerous at times.

Just kick the kei into the other parking spot or pick it up and move it if you're a nice guy.

Sorry to hear about your germ wagon. I'll be dealing with mine in a few weeks when I go back home. Hopefully flu season in Tokyo will be gone by then...

Yes, it's that time of year for sure. The same exact thing crossed my mind!

Double parking a necessity for that sick ride, my friend.

@kafkanarchy84 - Right?! Especially with how big it is and all.

wow!very very beautifull video.

Smirnoff captured American culture at it's best for sure. Thanks!

That comercial feels like a relic of time long forgotten.

Yeah - those days are long gone. I was watching some bud light commercials from just a few years ago. No way they woud be aired now. Bummer...

@rifat5 (26) This comment is for your benefit so you don't find others downvoting or flagging you.

I have noticed that you have made a number of very short comments on other blogs, which are similar in style to the one above. They don’t really add anything to the discussion of the topic.

Please help keep Steemit free of spam posts.

If you like a post, it is generally sufficient to upvote it unless you want to join in the debate.

Why didn’t you upvote this blog?

You seem to be repeating the same kind of comment on many blogs, without any mention of the subject matter.

This kind of behavour looks like spam and you risk others interpreting it that way and flagging you.

Another thing to be careful of is asking other people to upvote or follow. This is also counter-productive and irritating. Asking for upvotes and follows is against Steemit etiquette. Some users may downvote, mute, or flag you if you do this.

Downvotes or flags can lower your reputation, can result in the removal of rewards, and may result in your posts not being seen by others.

Don’t worry, I haven’t flagged or downvoted you. I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt that you were genuinely trying to encourage the poster. An upvote would have been sufficient.

I often reward intelligent comments. I have a lot of Steempower. A 100% upvote from me is worth hundreds of times a normal upvote. I hope I can reward you for intelligent and thought provoking posts in the future. Good luck in your future posts!

(Other bloggers, please let me know whether you agree or disagree with my comment. If you disagree, feel free to upvote the person who left the short comment)

Thank you very much. I agree with your partner. Your words love me very much. I hope you will be with me in this way.
I say, Bengali, I'm less educated. English understands little. However, in which country do you live. And what can you do in Bangla language? I would be very happy to talk about whatsapp or facebook about steemit. Please give me your whatsapp number!

Congratulations @musingsltd! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70855.94
ETH 3844.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49