Showing Your Cat/Dog Affection

in #life7 years ago (edited)

thanks_mom_dad_img2.png

Have you seen that silicone tongue pacifier looking thing that you put in your mouth and use as an extended tongue to “bond” with your cat?

The first time I saw that thing I thought “That is so ridiculous!”

We look at love and affection in a human way, do you think your dog realizes when you kiss or hug it that you are showing a loving gesture? Most likely, what you are doing is scaring your dog or cat. Animals sometimes interpret physical touch as a threat so get to know your pet so you know what is the best approach.

Dogs no matter how “good” they are, they will feel threatened when hugged. If you have been squeezing your dog with locked tight arms and they haven’t bit you then you are one of the lucky ones. Show your dog love by petting them not hugging. In their mind they might feel like you are trying to hurt them. Best thing to do if your dog looks scared is to give it space.


Cats mainly show affection by cleaning each other. If you aren’t going to be licking away at their fur and gagging a few hairballs then it’s time to invest in one of two things:
The pacifier tongue thing.
A Brush

Cats tend to have flat ears when they feel threatened and will show their claws, as a sign that they will attack; best thing to do if your cat feels threatened is to give it space to cool down. Cats communicate with humans through eye contact, if your cat is looking at you and wont blink it’s a sign that it feels threatened. Animals do not understand the typical multiple attempt to fix situational mistakes such as you making them feel threatened by trying to hug them and then continuing to try to show affection after they display defensive behavior. The best way is to invite your pet to come to you for affection.

Avoid
Kisses

Hugs

Sort:  

Nice post :) I was one of the lucky people that grew up with a dog who allowed me to hug him and who was like my brother :) I miss him

Aweee Yeah most dogs get anxious... Your lucky.

Hello @naiahyoung!! Glad to see you returned!!
I have no pets now, I have had dogs in the past!!

Thank you. Yes I am definitely Back to Back!

Very useful post, @naiahyoung, especially because I have a dog myself and I learned a lot from reading your post! I have just upvoted it!

Thanks! How do you mainly show your dog affection?

Pets are the best!

I have 3 cats, british shorthair, they are cute <3

Awe, I wish I could get a pet and have the time to take care of it but I am rarely home so I would totally be a bad owner.

We have 2 cats with my partner. And it is true that they are often licked. I will follow your blog because I love animals and you have a lot of good advice. Good job

Thank you so much!!

Howdy @naiahyoung!! Missing you here!! What is up??
I also have a question for you, are you a fan of the NFL?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65