Homestead project September 8: plumbing

in #life6 years ago

ab155f7b-0ffd-4586-8b18-cbeed56e5d44.jpeg

66654ab9-c8bd-47e0-a428-3dc71efa8eec.jpeg

5d68c70e-aa5e-4aca-9cdf-85ac023cb09f.jpeg


Quick! Call the landlord! ...oh wait...

Lemme start this one off by saying that I hate plumbing work.

I've worked in the trades all my life. I've done carpentry from framing to high quality handmade furniture to cabinets. I've welded pipe, sheet, plate, aluminum, stainless, and steel, structural to food grade. I've done electrical work from lights to welders, hot box and new circuit installs. But plumbing just sucks.

Plumbers, y'all are badasses. Rock on.

The part here with pictures was the easy part. It took half an hour maybe? What happened was that a drain pipe got clogged and backed up into the sink in our wet bar/office. Well, not the sink.

See, whoever did this first did a complete crap job. They used pipes that didn't match and filled the gaps with glue. Not even primer and glue. Just glue. So when it backed up, the glue busted and spilled all over. Yippee. I hate when people do a crap job.

Nate got it squared away with the proper pipes and fittings. I hate plumbing, but I can do a good job of it.

After that, I pipe snaked the drain for three hours. Yeesh. My back hurts. I got the damn thing stuck in there and kinked up and tied in a knot or something cause it was STUCK. All better. Nate fixed it. After we flooded the mud room. No damage because we acted quickly, but what a pain. I hate plumbing.

It was cool using $50 of our emergency fund to save a few hundred bucks. More fun tomorrow probably! But actual fun this time.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Around here, we built everything, so plumbing is good. But the thing my husband hates is electricity. Right now he's trying to sort an electrical problem with the truck, and hasn't won, yet. It's been days....

Ooh, vehicle electrical work is hard! Tons of little wires and the problem could be anywhere! I know people that would just take it all out and buy a whole new harness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98