Resolutions

in #life6 years ago

It's 2018 now. That was fast!

After Thanksgiving, I start reflecting on the previous year and planning the next. It's a time of transition.

2017 was a strange year. I started the year very strong. I was unemployed from my main job and working three or four side jobs. That changed in March when I got called back from my layoff.

I shot more last year than I ever have. A thousand rounds of pistol, and three thousand rounds of rifle at least. I built my night vision rig and set up two rifles for night shooting.

My father in law died last year. I loved that man. We had a lot of fun together. It was hard watching his body and mind wither, but I'll always love and cherish the memories I have of him.

I learned a lot. I never stopped learning and development of my philosophical stance. I read a lot of books last year.

I played too much though. Five thousand dollars on hobbies last year, at least. And really I have a bunch of equipment and knowledge I'll probably never need. It helped me develop my fundamental philosophy, so I did get that out of it.

The final lesson of 2017 is to focus on important things. With every step I make this year, I will ask if it is something I will be proud of a year from now. I will ask if it will make my life better into the future.

This year is going to be a foundational year moving forward. I am focusing on controlling and enriching the part if the world I have influence over, and not worrying about the rest. I'm going to make a small part of the world a better place for my family.

That said, I and resolved and committed to taking the following steps this year:

  1. I'm going to buy a house with a bit of land. I need better credit for that. Not much, but better. I need to pay debt to do that. That means less hobby money.

  2. I'm going to run my business harder this year. All these things take money, and I'd love to feed them with more of my own work. Not sure if that means I'll register it as a business or what, but it's what I'm gonna do. But I'm going to innovate more and push this thing farther than I ever have before.

  3. I'm going to live a healthier, more disciplined life. I don't want to die when my kids are 30. They don't need that kind of problem. I'm not going to be a burden on my children.

  4. I'm going to read more books.

  5. I'm going to manage my investments better. That means actively participating, and as of now, I'm choosing to do that in crypto. It's fun and it's something I believe in.

That sums it up for me. Let's hear your resolutions.

Happy New year, y'all!

Nate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73