Starting college!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I enrolled in college, finally. But when enrolling they required our 2016-17 tax information. We had 3 businesses running at that time so the amount I would receive from my PELGrant would be significantly smaller. I called and asked if we could update it and they said no problem, just bring your most recent tax info.

Cool. So I did. The drive is 2 hours, mind you.

I got to the financial aid office and they told me my social security number was incorrect.
HOW? IT'S THE ONLY NINE DIGIT NUMBER I HAVE EVER MEMORIZED!

I was disgusted by the system already but now they tell me that in order to change it, I need to bring in a physical S.S. Card. Again, 4-5 hours there and back.

Now, this is where shit hits the fan.
I look in the safe and guess what's not there..
My social along with my birth certificate.

For somebody to lose both of those things...

Get this, in order to get a new social security card, you need to have a birth certificate.
I just got my new birth cert. form notarized so I can mail it in and hopefully get a new one for a total fee of $40 (15-notary/25-state fee) or a Statement of No Public Record.

Then on to the social security card.

Long story short.. don't lose your important documents, because I am already starting classes, and won't get paid my adjusted grant for at least 8 weeks..

brewster-wallpaper-wp0090403-64_1000.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @natorious! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75