And I Stopped Making New Year Resolutions!!!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We all are guilty of forming resolutions every new year, in spite of it sticking or not. And 90% of the time, it clearly does not. But does that stop us from making more the next year? And the year after?

And like most of you, I was no better. I had made myself a list of resolutions for the year 2017. Some of them were impossible to get done, some of them quite easy to have completed. But nonetheless, the end result - NOT ONE OF IT GOT DONE!!


A screenshot from my phone notes

Now let me explain why none of it happened.

- Read a Book a month

Reading was a daily habit for me all through my school life. But the moment I left for college, it just started going down. Eventually, by the end of 5 years of college, I rarely read a book. The smartphones had become prevalent by then. For a person who did not even finish a book or two in a whole year, it was nothing short of impossible to have undertaken a book a month. In short --- STUPID RESOLUTION!


- Listen to a new album every month

I am a Singer, but listening to new tracks has become rare for me. I would only recognise a track when someone mentioned it and then I looked it up. I kept listening to a few all-time favourite ones of mine. And I did not download any streaming apps either. And for such a person, listening to a new album every month would never have worked. Nah huh.


- Get paid for your passion

So well, I guess I sort of got that done. But not really.. I became a YouTuber a year back and well, it wasn't a platform I chose to earn through. As I was well aware that it pays you negligible money. Hence I started freelancing as a Voice Over Artist. And though it wasn't something I'd known I could do, nor my passion, it was indeed something that I enjoyed doing, through which I made some cash. But I'm not sure whether it counts as a cash earning passion!


- Talk to one stranger every month

Erm. I cannot believe that I made a resolution like this. I mean, really?? Talk to one every month? I've probably talked to dozens in a single month. And I'm a talkative person too. So why would I need to make that an objective, I wonder. Okay, I admit that I was plain dumb to write this one.


- Write one positive thing every single day.

That's just a lot of pressure on me. I'm not a very optimistic person (though I want to be) and such a person wouldn't have been able to write 365 positive things. Even at my most optimistic, I could maybe manage 50??
No more pressure on yourself girl, no more!


- Volunteer

Aaaaah. This one, I really do wish I could have done. But with my wedding planning and everything, I should have known it wouldn't have happened. This one, I still hope to do. But without keeping any expectations. fingers crossed


- Draw the same thing for 30 days in a row

I think this happened thanks to a video about how our artistic skills can improve if we try doing the same thing every day for over a month. But being a lazy person, I probably knew while I wrote it down, that it would never happen. It may have happened for a day or two, but not anymore. I probably got a bit carried away after watching the video, I'm sure.


- Don't use the phone for one whole day every month

This is probably the most necessary action that I need to execute immediately. Because I have become way too addicted to my phone/s. But then I don't know whether I have the willpower to get that done as I am sure that I will crave for it, in just an hour. But this one, I cannot put a verdict on, just yet. I will hope to make it happen some day.


- Learn html and css

Why oh why? I ask myself over and over again? I have already learned too many software in a year. My brain would have electrocuted if not for some break. And I don't intend to be a coder or a web designer either. So this one, I'm going to cut off, for good.


- Organise rooms

Well, the apartment that we've gotten is a tiny one with space for absolutely nothing. And hence mess starts accumulating everywhere. I have tried to clean it all up. But it comes back out in a couple of days. Blame me and @spaceninja for being lazy people in general. So organising never happened and probably won't until we shift to a new place. Even then, with our luck, the place will get disorganised in no time. :-(


So there! You see now how I've realised that these numerous resolutions that I write up every year, just becomes a huge disappointment at the end of the year. So hereby I declare that I'm no more doing these NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS anymore. I'd rather just take unplanned decisions along the way and get any sort of stuff done in the process.

No More Objectives, No More Disappointment!

Sort:  

Enjoy the vote and reward!

Thanks a lot for the upvote. :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nayanapremnath to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

yes i see. An excellent choice for not making a resolution in 2018 (new year resolution). because it's all like everyday habits.

Exactly!!! These New Year Resolutions are just a fad that makes people feel like they might accomplish something and then let them down. :D

I agree with you. Disappointment turned out to come from the various expectations that we make ourselves at the beginning of the year. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 68527.86
ETH 3564.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18