You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am raising my son with an open mind and you should do the same too

in #life6 years ago

Super interesting post and really refreshing to read :-)
I'm going to pick on a word here as it's one that's important from a "social acceptance" pov.

Normal

Normal in one's eyes isn't always normal in others. That's the problem with society it's entirely subjective but it's influenced, many people are brought up with a generalised form of normal taken from cultural, media, governmental and historically militant driven ideologies.

Honestly there is no normal so to speak, it's an average of behavioural trends. And we all know that averages suck at representation. Let's take 4 people, 2 of which are 6ft tall and 2 are 5ft tall.... the average doesn't exist. Its the same with behaviour. The new normal I feel is be yourself, don't be what everyone else assumes you should be.

I remember my missus had upset a few folks on an autism group online, she mentioned she was sad our son wouldn't be seen as normal because he struggled with controlling his anger and lashed out.
The trigger for that reaction had been the use of the term normal.... She apparently should use the term not neurotypical instead. The uproar was astounding.

But my point here is the phrase, not neurotypical just wraps the words atypical==abnormal==not normal.

Use of normal in this regard and similar to your open minded approach to bringing up your child. Is about being "socially accepted"

We don't need a social construct around normal, about socially fitting in that avarage. Be yourself, imho socially we should simply look at positive and negative behaviour between each other. If ones behaviour, way of thinking harms no one what's the problem :-)
I.e The world needs to chillax, respect people's way of life.

Sort:  

@niko3d Hey niko! Thanks for your comment. I agree with you - I'm not too sure where I used it, but bad me, I don't like that word either. Normal is a bullshit word. Society is more of a collective difference! No-one is normal :)

Not bad on you at all :) I'm not referring to your use directly, people can use it as they need, I do use it also. Just talking from people's expectations of normal in context of generalised acceptance socially.

Either way bringing up your kids the way your described is really awesome :-) it's important to allow them to grow the way they feel at home and not squeezed into someone's else's idea of what people should be. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60166.58
ETH 2964.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79