Don't Judge This Picture By Its Cover

in #life6 years ago

cd3e1fe1-a422-4efb-8f70-02c82165336f.jpeg


It's a night time picture. The lighting Is horrible. But it's one of my favorites.
I love it because we are really laughing in the picture. It's not posed.

Typically, this picture would be judged the way books get judged by their covers. It might get made fun of by the other kids at school. It would be shunned by all of the photography pros.

I know it's not super professional or eye-catching.

But it captures true joy, which for me at least, gives it some extra credit points.

When I look at it, it makes me smile and makes my heart feel happy.

And if a picture makes you feel good, then I consider that to be a win. That's a good picture in my book. One that makes you feel good, whatever the reason.

These are some of my favorite travel pictures.

When I look back at cool places I've been with stunning scenery, I also bump into photos like these.
Photos like these potentially make me happier than even the nice scenery ones.

Because a big part of travel is getting to know the people around you that you would otherwise never have had a chance to meet.

So, here I am last night with my friend/homestay owner Nari, and she's shown me so much about Balinese culture and she makes me laugh every single day.

There's a cafe that I go to a lot in Canggu, and I told her that two of the girls that work there are not nice to my friend and me (we go there a lot together). She said "The owner is my family, I'm calling right now to tell them to be nice to you!"

Next thing I knew, she was on the phone speaking Balinese and I was just laughing and shaking my head because I couldn't believe she did that.

Then she decided to come to the bakery with my friend Sarah and me, and we ended up just having the silliest night becaue Nari says inappropriate things. I can't repeat here because I just can't bring myself to use the NSWF or whatever tag (mainly because I don't even know if that's the correct acryonym haha).

Those are the moments I remember and treasure when traveling, even if the picture doesn't do it justice.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I hope your friends are all ok on Bali, there was an earthquake on nearby Lombok the past few days and it affected both islands.

Oh yeah I know! There have been at least 4 that we've felt over here! One of them was really scary! The other 3 didn't bother me much, but one was bad enough to where it was very hard to stand up 'cause I was so dizzy! And then the Balinese lady that I sort of live with (in the pic) said we might have to run lol I made a video of us waiting for potential earthquake death.

Thanks for checking up!!

Yikes! August 2018 seems like destructive chaos is all around ... Christmas should be better :)

I think so!

Aw come on!!! Tell us! We’re all adults here :)

i am in love with your smile @nomadicsoul :)

Hahahahaah don't worry, you can relay all that was said with me when we are about to retire for the night.

That picture is pure joy. That's all i can see in there. It doesn't have to have the best lightening and contrast, but the message of joy that it conveys is more than enough. I could stare at a picture like this for a long time. You can't look at it and not give another heart warming smile.

Well done beautiful.

Haha, your NSWF is NSFW, but that is super cute though. Travelling is the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94