Meet The “Queen Of The Dark”

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Nyakim Gatwech, the South Sudanese model who’s teaching people not to be afraid of the dark, with her deeply pigmented skin and fierce determination, she’s breaking down the barriers of conventional beauty, and encouraging others to do exactly the same

24-year-old Nyakim Gatwech is making waves in the fashion industry with her sumptuously dark skin

Before the South Sudanese model found success, though, her unique beauty wasn’t celebrated by all

In 2016, an Uber driver suggested she bleach her skin, implying that her deep complexion was nothing to love

She simply responded with laughter, and has fully embraced her striking appearance ever since

“My chocolate is elegant. So is what I represent… A nation of warriors,” she captioned an Instagram photo

Now living in Minneapolis, Nyakim is a voice of encouragement for the Black community

The burgeoning fashion icon has now gone viral, with over 100 thousand followers on Instagram

Though she still receives discouraging messages now and then, she refuses to give up her radiant self-love

She has even been dubbed the “Queen of the Dark,” a title she happily accepts


credits to "borepanda" for photos and news

UPVOTE AND FOLLOW

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by notonlyfood from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Hi there ✌🏻 I'm Juned123 and I'm a new steemer! I am also vote you ! Please follow me I m follow you back and vote for my first posts) I'm really thankfull to you 😻

Upvoted and followed

Whoa! Almost seems photoshoped!

I think just a bit

Very cool model and nice colors ! I like it!

wow so nice
i like that girl Nyakim Gatwech so goregeous!!!

So do I, leave a vote :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62622.67
ETH 2944.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61