South-bearing bun for breakfaststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

A bad translation

In Nederish it is called 'Zuidlaarder bol'.

Great with coffee

It is that time of year where the last of the harvest is brought in. In the Northern Hemisphere autumn really is starting to become evident. Even though in Nederland we will have another warm after summer day, 25 degrees Celcius. Great to do some woodwork repairs. Waiting now for the morning dew to disappear.

During autumn we do have several kinds of annual markets up North. In my hometown there is the 'All hallows' one, in Oaldamster dialect known as 'Addrilntje'. And for many people around here it really starts off with the 'Zuidlaarder markt'. (Kookul translated that as 'South-bearing market.) It is about 30 Kilometers from where I live.

Might go there again this year. It was a tradition for the family I grew up in. It has been a long time since I have been there, good memories. Somehow during the second week of october I am focussed on a certain kind of bread. To be more specific, I am on the lookout for the worldfamous 'Zuidlaarder bol'. It is a currant Bun, quite big in size, named after the village that gave it fame.

Fishy things

So when I spotted it at a local supermarket yesterday I just had to buy it. And it is no way near the real thing, as far a I remember. Those were baked 'live' at the market. The enchanting smell of the fresh sweet oven baked currant Bun was hard to resist. Getting one shortly before heading home, still warm. Also some smoked eel and raw herring were part of the things the family would take home.

Well, I never cared for the fishy part. The smell was enough to put me off, it still does. But the currant Bun, could hardly wait to dig in. We would have a visit at my grandparents' in the village of Muntendam. They really loved those fishy things. Think I must have been found as a baby between the Cauliflowers. Although my brother also disliked them fishy things. But he started to change his eating preferences a bit.

Best served warm

Hot chocolate milk and dairy butter melting away softly on a warm slice of currant Bun. Me trying to find a spot at my Grandparents' house that did not have the dominant smell of them fishy things. Outside it would be cold and inside it was warm in many ways. Finally I could dig in. The cream on the cake. Life was as simple as it was good.

This morning I sliced myself a big chunk of 'Zuidlaarderbol'. Butter on it and powder sugar, as I am a sweettooth. No hot chocolate, but coffee, getting myself ready to finish up on the woodwork, before it gets too warm. Now who would have thought I could state that on saturday the 13th of october 2018? Anyway, think I'll just get me one more cup of coffee and then get sanding.

And the 'Zuudloarder boale' (dialect)? Well, it was okay, but it did not hit the right spot. Think I might head for Zuidlaren coming tuesday and get me the real thing.

Have a great one!


Having some good memories for breakfast.
IMG_20181013_081243.jpg
Photo license cc-by-sa @oaldamster.


This original @oaldamster publication is cc-by-sa licensed. It can be found on Steem, Whaleshares and WeKu.

Sort:  

'Think I might head for Zuidlaren coming tuesday and get me the real thing'.
Funny how the taste of things stay in our heads. To explain: I only started drinking coffee when I was about 19 years old. Before that; never. I just didn't like it. Except for the coffee (hand)made by my grandmother (from my mothers side).
Can say that I became kind of a coffee-addict later on. But I never, ever drank coffee as good as that of my grandmother's.
She's long gone now, but I can exactly remember how the taste of her coffee was.

Think it is part connected to emotions, good vibes intertwined with these taste experience that make them such strong and nice memories.
The way describe with the tastefull memory of your grandma her homemade coffee. (Mine from Dad's side had a beangrinder in het kitchen. Strong memory, like I'm there.)

Grandma from Dad's side made some really great 'draadjesvlees' with dark 'jus'. Her potatoes fell apart on my plate. Never had tasted anything like that before. Still remember it.

Hm, now I come to think of it, much seems to be food and family related. :-)

Have a great weekend @smasssh!

Just discovered a big part of rotten woodwork, so I'll be outside in the sun this weekend a bit more. 😰

Latex!

'Draadjesvlees', indeed. My mother still makes that every now and then. The potatoes falling apart and ... 'stoofpeertjes'. And for desert; warm 'custardvla' with 'Haagse bluf'.
Gonna give her a call I guess, to find out when she's gonna make that again. Hahaha.

Good luck with this sunny DIY weekend.

Latex.

Ah, 'stoofpeertjes' and 'warme custardvla' numnum. When the weather gets colder it would be great. Sure when you call your mother and compliment her on how good she can make it, it will be on the menu soon. ;-)

Thanks, think I even got sunburned already. Now time for the paintbrush, 'meters maken'.

Hi @oaldamster!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.530 which ranks you at #548 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 545).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 249 contributions, your post is ranked at #125.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Always one more cup is a good move!

Need that caffeinne boost, to get me going. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63016.70
ETH 3028.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75