Sort:  

Thank you for the reply. I would have to disagree with the premise of Universal Basic Income. Politics aside (I really do try to avoid them) I know many people in my day to day life who don't work at all. I know many people in their 20's, 30's, 40's and yes even 50's who don't work and "sponge" off their parents. It's almost like a disease of the entitled. Many of these people often take advantage of their parents kind nature and inability to say the word "No." Yet many of these workless people with no skills or contributions seem to have to problems constantly running afoul of the law or using drugs a daily basis. I would it find horrendous if any part of any taxes I pay would go to subsidize or support them. (I am not obtuse enough to claim that everyone is like this) But the saying goes a few bad apples spoil the bunch. I am glad you enjoyed the article, please feel free to respond or reply as I would really like to hear the counter-argument to this you may sway myself and others opinions.

I also followed you and upvoted you :)

I agree with everything you say. I have a real job and have worked my entire life... I have never once been laid off of without work. I make a very nice 6 figure income. But the fact of the matter is I am an artist. My passion is making art but I have never been able to make a living through my paintings so I need to work 8 hours a day managing very large Projects. If I had a Universal Basic Income I could stop working at my job and paint and travel... soon I will get my Pension (after 30 years of continuous work) it will be more than enough to finally paint and travel... I just hope I can remain healthy enough to do so... do you see ? With a universal basic income I could have done this 30 years ago when I was very healthy.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am inspired by your creative passion! I wish you the best of luck with your artistic endeavors. Like you I have worked the last 19 years. However, I am often reminded of the Bill gates quote real life is not people hanging around in a coffee shop all day not working. (I believe he was referring to friends) I also do not believe that everyone would be as altruistic about doing what they want in life. Some I believe would do nothing more than drink the day away.

I have been working very hard all my life so that I can live and create what I want when I want... I thought I would be a millionaire or Billionaire a lot sooner .... it seems to take a very long time to have enough wealth to be Financially Independent.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Steemit is certainly helping me achieve my goal... between June and December 2017. I had made over $30,000 USD here just sharing my artwork and photography.... I figured if I could make $30,000 every 6 months here that would certainly help me to an early Retirement at 50.... but then Steem fell from $8 to 66 cents since January 2018

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82