How I Repurpose Lumber and Install the Dock

in #life6 years ago

P1160277.JPG

Welcome Back My Friends

To the Annual Putting in of the Dock

And How I Repurpose Lumber


I am running a bit behind a few of my neighbors lol.

20180501_170545_HDR.jpg

So my friends it is finally that time of year that I have been waiting for. Time to put build the dock once again. Every fall we take out all the poles and wood dock sections. Why you may ask. Well for one, the ice would just bend and break everything up. Two, there are a lot of snowmobilers in the winter and no one wants them to hit a frozen-in pole!

My son Ben is actually willing to help because he wants his jet ski in!

20180501_170514_HDR.jpg

Amelia's Kitchen.jpg

I tried to get @dswigle jealous of my Scubapro booties. I thought finally I have some footwear that she doesn't!! WRONG! She has a pair!!! Arrrggg so frustrating LOL!


Houston, we have a problem!

The dock is always a bit too low to safely step down to. It is 16 inches from the seawall to the dock, so I need a step. I have a bunch of old treated lumber I have been wanting to get rid of. Let's use some of it up on a step!



Not too shabby!

20180504_183906_HDR.jpg

Well it holds!

20180501_181047_HDR.jpg

Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20

footer.png


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

If you don't know, Watch the video!!!

Sort:  

That is quite the step down without your ingenuity! Glad to see you saved those knees. You never know when you are going to need them or those snazzy scuba booties.

I want to get a hot pink pair. How about you? You know you look pretty in pink!

Admit it!

Tip! Worthy ('ll steem you tomorrow)

I like to stick with pink tutus, but oh yeah I would do some pink scuba booties!!!

Remember these pink memories @dswigle? I mention you at 1:55 in the first one and all over on the second one. The last one is the first time I ever mentioned the Diva LOL!



That was actually a little bit hilarious. I had no idea that you mentioned me so much although each time I watched one of the videos I remembered. Shouldn't I be getting royalties for this?

Tip! Worthy fun!

Well I pay the royalties off in the form of Old Guy's custom pimping service LOL! Which actually reminds me I need to resteem your last post now LOL!!! :) Oh and plus you do get to talk to the internationally loved Old Guy which if you think of it is highly valuable! ;)

Here I never even realized just how rich I was. Thanks for the reminder.

Yes you don't have to Steam that piece. Pretty sure nobody wants to read that.

Not only that, the Old Guy is pretty humble as well LOL!

Yes they do and I like to see it on my wall. Done and done! :P

Words of wisdom Paul. You got to go your own way and do your own thing...and make dinner.
Good work on the dock. btw. tip!

Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @molometer!

Chck out this new post from @molometer: Click. Feel free to follow @molometer if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators - pays out 100% of profit + 50% curation rewards to all investors.

Opening the stuff for summer is always a chore.....glad you had some help there.

Sorry about your Izzy. I just couldn't look at the photos...you know how it is ....eeeee. Any pet is a cherished one.

What do you do if the water rises, just wondering? Do you have to readjust the dock?

Yes I would have to readjust yet as long as I have been on the lake (25 years or so) it starts high and slowly recedes as the evaporation usually exceeds the rainfall, only to start the cycle over through freezing in winter and stopping the evaporation.

The growth of leaves on the trees looks like its at the same stage as here. We're in the middle of a warm spell now. The official peak temperature was 25.7 C today in Lahti, Southern Finland. It doesn't look like summer, yet. But it sure does feel like it.

Interesting we had been in the 20 to 27 range, but a big storm came through and has pushes us down to 7!!! Brrr!

That looks like quite the project. Glad it held up in the end, there! That looks like a pretty big lake.

Thanks. Its about a 1000 acres.

Resteem Promo Offer
Re-steem Post Unlimited For 1 Week
anime.gif
Send 2 SBD or 2 STEEM To @stoneboy - Post Url in the Memo - Your Post Will Be Re-steem to 9500+ followers 2 different accounts.

Note : This offer is only for one time. After that the regular rate will be applied.

Still yet to see the boat this year. :-)

Im waiting on the storage guy to get it out. Everyone wants their boats out at the same time lol.

ah... now we know the bottleneck.

You did a great job! Now you can enjoy :) Proud daddy :))

You did a good job on the dock and step. I find I need to put steps in where I didn't need them before. Growing old is the pits! Whoever called them the Golden Years had to be young!

Oh boy you sure got that right! Growing old aint for sissies!

Love these "how-done-it" mystery stories... :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50