Egoism v Altruism: The reflection that reveals YOU

in #life6 years ago

How-to-explain-warm-glow-giving_knowledge_standard.jpg
source

Egoism, an attitude that one's interest are of greater importance than any other consideration or thing. The pursuit of one’s own welfare in the basis of morality. While, Altruism is the devotion to the welfare of others. Altruism is the antithesis of egoism (self-interest).

The duo explain the extremes in human beings. Egoism, the quality of being excessively self-centered and altruism, on the other end, the quality of being completely selfless.

Psychologists have believed that every man is selfish by nature, but still get fascinated by the change of human nature as the other quality, Altruism (selflessness) is seen. According to them, a number of factors can be a determinant of the two qualities in relation to the diverse actions and circumstances that surround man. So, we can’t completely say a man is egoistic or altruistic, but we can see where He functions the most.

ayn-rand-vs-jesus-Copy-copy.jpg
source

In seeing where He function the most, we take a reflection to see where we fall.

• Do I find joy or peace in helping the less privilege and/or poor?
• Does volunteering works for me?
• When was the last time I helped an elderly one?
• What is my relationship with children?
• Are strangers asking for help (maybe direction or alms) burdensome to me?
• Do I give time, money, counsel etc. to people?
• How much time do I spend for myself in a day, on the average?
• How much time do I spend for others in a day, on the average?
• Does helping others look like a waste of time?
• Do I feel like a fool after helping people with money?
• What does my environment embrace in egoism and altruism?
• Do I have a circle I take care of alone?
• Can I return money lost to the rightful owner?
• Do I analyze my budget before giving out?

Finding answers to this question, I believe can help you become a better person.

Sort:  

Hey! I'm B² and you have been chosen by my automated assistant (B²Bot) to receive my announcement about a new challenge I'm hosting!
I just introduced "FIVE WORD STORIES" challenge in my Introduction post. You can read about the challenge HERE and participate by submitting your story in the comments section of the challenge entries which you can find HERE. You will have the chance to win SBD in this challenge.

I'd be happy to see you around my friend!
NOTE: Your participation is through commenting on the challenge photos I post, not posting photos
Happy Steeming!
5WS_icon copy.png

I think egoism is what is affecting us on steemit. Some. People are selfish

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69450.75
ETH 3678.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81