7 day beer challenge day #3

in #life6 years ago

Previous posts:

After perhaps drinking too much on Saturday, I decided to take it a bit easier on Sunday. We had some sushi from a local grocery store after a strangely long day, then I decided to pop a bottle I've been eyeing for a while.

Sucuba from Firestone Walker

I'm not sure the story I heard about this one is correct or not, but the person pouring an earlier release of this at a beer festival said it used to be called Abacus, but after some legal trouble decided instead of fighting it in court they just renamed it to Abacus backward.

At any rate, it's a barleywine aged in a barrel. I've often said that I might like Miller Lite if you were to put it in a bourbon barrel. Barleywines are quite a step up from a crappy American adjunct lager, so the base beer is considerably better, then add the notes of awesome flavor that you get from the barrel.

I got lots of caramel and chocolate notes. The body was surprisingly not thick, despite the fact that the beer felt thick in flavor. I'm a big fan of beers from Firestone Walker, and while this isn't as amazing as PNC, I still whole-heartedly recommend it.

I seem to be out of people I feel comfortable tagging to drink with me on here. :(

Since this is a contest, there must be rules.

  1. You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days.
  2. The beer must be something you have never tasted before.
  3. You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it.
  4. Nominate someone every day.
  5. If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  6. Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.
Sort:  

I've often said that I might like Miller Lite if you were to put it in a bourbon barrel.

Ok you sold me. I went to the store on lunch break and picked out a bourbon barrel beer. The name slips my mind right now but it will be my 7th day beer. review incoming tonight.

I keep meaning to try to brew an American adjunct lager and try barrel aging a portion of it. The problem is that I'm not sure I'm a good enough brewer to make a good lager, and even if I was I don't really enjoy pale lagers. Maybe after I retire I'll get around to that.

Really looking forward to this one...have not had many quality American Barleywines..but the Sucaba last year was phenomenal

It's a pretty solid beer from a solid brewery. Even their beers that I'm not a huge fan of (looking at you, Helldorado) are still well-made.

I have been picking people that I deal with daily here or people that made interesting comments on previous posts that i think will do a good job on this. You are doing excellent and have a much more sophisticated taste than i do. Can i ask why you didn't use all 5 tags? You are loosing views on your post if you don't take advantage of it. I ussually open up a new tab and go to the main trending side bar and use tags that fit my post to help grab a few extra views to my posts. hope this helps and I am looking forward to your future reviews.
tags.JPG

I've got no good reason other than I didn't really think any other ones apply. Sure, there's a photo in the post, but I wouldn't say that the post is really about photography.

it's all good. just trying to help get you some exposure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48