7 day beer challenge day #7

in #life6 years ago

Previously, on Omni Has A Drinking Problem:

For the last day of the challenge, I decided to go ahead and have a nice easy-drinkin' IPA. Turns out I picked one more easy-drinkin' than I expected.

Detour from Muskoka Brewery

I didn't bother reading the can, cracked it open, and poured it into the glass. I took a big whiff, clearly highly hopped. I tasted it, and definitely got a lot of bitter, but not a lot else. I was thinking of how I would shred them for making such a weak IPA.

Then I bothered to actually read the label. Oh, it's a session IPA! Well, in that case, it's quite good! Obviously, it lacks the malty backbone of a full IPA, which makes the IPA seem much more bitter. Yet they manage to not be too bitter. Quite enjoyable. And despite the nor'easter tearing up the northeast, I threw some burgers on the grill. This beer went well for a beautiful Texas spring evening.

Cheers

This is the end of the "contest". I don't actually know what the contest was for, or what anyone might win. But I like beer, so I'm gonna do it. I think I may continue drinking new beers and blogging about them. I mean, I'm going to continue drinking new beers no matter what, but I kind of like talking about the beers. Maybe I'll actually start doing better tasting notes about them.

Anyway, thanks to doomsdaychassis for getting me involved with it. I've had fun and enjoyed virtually meeting and interacting with some other beer nerds.

Since this is a contest, there must be rules.

  1. You have to try a new beer every day, for 7 days.
  2. The beer must be something you have never tasted before.
  3. You must put a photo of the beer and write a few words about it.
  4. Nominate someone every day.
  5. If you are a social outcast with no friends to invite you just join the fun. You have every excuse to drink!
  6. Use the tag "#sevendaybeerchallenge" as one of your five tags.
Sort:  

It seems I've missed a bunch of goodness in these posts, while I was away with work/vacation/surgery. Thanks for sharing. I've never been a fan of session IPAs despite loving IPAs in general.

They're definitely a weird category. I haven't found any that I really like. I mean, if you want to drink a whole bunch of beer over a long period of time and still be functional, they fulfill that niche. I'd rather drink full-strength beer and just have some self-discipline to stop drinking before I become inebriated.

But just like sours, I get that these beers are really liked by others, so I guess to each his own!

There's a butt for every seat, and a beer for every palate.

You are too kind to sharing it. I love this post very much bro @omnicolor (─‿‿─)

I hope you do keep doing reviews. I think you have a much better pallet for good beers than what i have and it would help someone like me figure out what they would like before buying it. I also have a seperate question. How do you make your hyper links look like that? Like how do you make them relabeled and still work? Maybe write a post on that and some other stuff to help us nontechnical folks clean up our posts, I would gladly resteem stuff like that.

I use Markdown a lot at work, so it's second-nature to me. If you look between the text box you're tying responses in and the preview pane, there's a link called Markdown Styling Guide that gives all of the tricks for bolding, italicizing, and hyperlinking.

Basically, it boils down to putting the text part in hard brackets [ ] and the URL in parenthesis ( ) with no whitespace between them like this: [Link to Google](http://google.com) which will appear like Link to Google.

I did have to learn two new tricks to do that. To make the text part not link, I put a \ before the [. But then it autolinked the Google URL. To fix that I had to hide some HTML italic tags in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68