Beer review: Rumpkin

in #life6 years ago

It's no secret that Avery Brewing makes some pretty awesome beers. This is one of my favorites from them.

IMG_20180328_182725.jpg

From my Untappd checkin:

Molasses on the nose, a little alcohol heat in the back of the throat, a hint of vanilla buried in rum and pumpkin spiced awesome.

Most of my favorite beers that have been aged in something are stouts aged in bourbon barrels. There are plenty of examples of mediocre bourbon barrel-aged stouts. I'm not sure that I've found any examples of rum barrel-aged beers that sucked, and tequila barrel-aged beers are batting higher than perfect.

This one is a pumpkin beer aged in rum barrels. I hate pumpkin in most cases. Pumpkin pie is disgusting and pumpkin spice latte is a reason to avoid Starbucks every year. But make a beer that tastes like pumpkin pie, and you've got one of my favorite styles.

What can I say, I'm a complicated individual.

This pumpkin beer is fantastic, as is Pumpkinator and Bishop Barrel 9 from Saint Arnold Brewing. There are some just "okay" pumpkin beers out there, but I've found that most of them are at least worth trying.

Have you had any great pumpkin beers?

Sort:  

I am torn on this. I love pumpkin flavored stuff but i am always afraid it is going to turn me into an ugg boot wearing basic bitch. :(

If it's any consolation, I don't wear Ugg Boots!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69488.13
ETH 3501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69