Moment in a Lifetime

in #life6 years ago

We hurt each other with the words we don't say
We hurt each other with the words we do say.
Desperately searching for the same thing:
nothing.
This we always knew
and so recently forgot.
When I first gazed into your eyes,
the world was so lucid
and my vision was clouded.
Reality stepped in.

6:25 on a Sunday.
Not a patch of blue in the sky.
As I walk to your apartment,
A tear in my eye and a spring in my step,
Knowing that when I see you it would all be better.
Wondering if it could get any worse.
As I fumble for a cigarette
The pack is rain-soaked.
I ask the bum for a light.
He asks me for some change.

I guess we could all use some change...
sometimes...
Then maybe all we need is stability
Which I thought I found in you
But since have lost,
reminding me I'm still me.
But who am I?
Who are you?
Whispered questions in the wind,
Foolishly hoping for an answer.

Originally written with my high school friend Larry and published in a 'zine I published called Tilted Planet III.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73