Back in Canada

in #life7 years ago

I woke up to my first morning back in Canada

after 3 months in Europe, mostly Greece,
with a new left hip (hooray!!!)
and no longer walking with a cane.

But the headline awaiting me outside my hotel room in Vancouver

on that, my first morning back,
was portentous of a mighty wave a-comin'
for those with eyes to see,
discerning minds to strip away the spin,
and hearts to feel.

GlobeNewspaperIMG_20170713_1613446.jpg

Since I have spoken of these matters before

In both poetry and prose,
I will not comment further on this now

except to say:

What has happened in Greece and happens now in several other countries,
will begin in the rest of the world too - even countries, like Canada, that have felt immune.

black-line-divider-clipart-divider-clip-art-9000_2500.jpg

So, my 3 month visa having expired

I reluctantly left my adopted home in Loutraki, Greece

LoutrakiaIMG_20170422_1357578.jpg

which is only an hour or so from Athens and not far at all from Old Corinth

Old Corinth1IMG_20170427_1422264.jpg

OldCorinth4IMG_20170427_1404273.jpg

My flight from Athens to Montreal was uneventful,

filled comfortably with 2 good meals and 4 recent movies (as I have said before, I like to suffer in comfort!).

The lay over in Montreal was just long enough to grab some Montreal smoked meat sandwiches,

a beer, and change euros back in to dollars.

And off to Vancouver (about a 6 hour flight across three time zones)

Vancouver airport is magnificent, full of stunning West Coast art:

StatueIMG_20170713_0800570.jpg

TotemIMG_20170713_0748263.jpg

Totem2IMG_20170713_0748412.jpg

Totem3IMG_20170713_0748547.jpg

AirportArtShopIMG_20170713_0759262.jpg

Although I would have liked to stay at the hotel at the airport,

it was already late evening and I had been traveling for many hours since leaving Athens,
there was only one room left, the Presidential suite. Since that was over $1,500,
I wasn't feeling very presidential and went looking for something more fit for a commoner.

But Vancouver is a very expensive city and even miles from the airport the cheapest room

for the night which I could find was still $300. By this time I was ready to pay that "princely" sum anyway just to get some sleep before an early morning flight to Terrace - many kilometers north.

At $300 the room was adequate

but nothing special - although I did get the "free" newspaper in the first photo way above :-)

The flight to Terrace from Vancouver is usually by turbo prop,

but this time I lucked out and was on a jet (thus shaving some time off of the usual 2 1/2 hour flight)

FlightTerraceIMG_20170713_1944355.jpg

A lift by one friend, from the airport to another friend's house

where I had left my car parked unobtrusively up against a high hedge in his backyard, and I was back in business - or so I thought. But when I re-connected the battery and made my entry into the vehicle I immediately realized that I had forgotten to close the window which was up against the hedge. My poor car was full of spiders and creepy crawleys and twigs and leaves and such lol.

During my last three or four weeks in Greece

I had been working 20 hour days because of dealings with structural engineers, agents, lawyers, banks and notaries and such due to the Bitshares-Munich fiasco and also I was trying to buy a property in Loutraki so that I could get Greek residency under the "Golden Visa" program. My health was deteriorating again despite some good improvement after the hip operation. The downturn was because of stress and lack of sleep and exercise I figured, so I was determined to get back into great shape again now that I was in Terrace with the opportunity to perhaps rest and recreate.

Instead of taking my car all of the time

Caradd_text.jpg
my car!

I decided I would walk sometimes - at first around the block of my friend's house where I was staying:

Walk2IMG_20170723_1416517.jpg

Walk1IMG_20170723_1415582.jpg

Walk3IMG_20170723_1418433.jpg

Walk4IMG_20170723_1422406.jpg

Walk5IMG_20170723_1423144.jpg

But later I started leaving my car to take pictures in other parts of this (very spread out) northern British Columbia town.
And I was rewarded with shots of fisherman trying the world famous salmon fishing at various spots along the Skeena River which runs through Terrace.

Fishermen2IMG_20170806_1656548.jpg

SkeenaEast2IMG_20170807_1959419.jpg

as well as other shots of the river and surrounding countryside:

SkeenaEastIMG_20170730_1916295.jpg
east view

WestView1IMG_20170806_1508426.jpg
west view

NorthView1IMG_20170801_1323078.jpg
north view

Oh, and I almost forgot. It was raspberry season, and a bumper year.

Even small patches were yielding hundreds of pounds!

RaspberriesIMG_20170723_1423542.jpg

Speaking of bumper crops,

as a closing note..............

my sister became a grandmother today! His name is Maximus James.

Maximus20170813_134529.jpg
my sister with the brand new Maximus

Over and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  

I wholeheartedly wish you to never feel the pressure of economic crisis that has shattered everybody's dreams and forced all to compromises of all kinds that should not apply to someone living in a modern country. I think you are safe up there in the north and in the improbable case that you begin to fall, I believe most other countries will have already crumbled to dust.

Canada is cruising for a bruising too. I fully expect the housing prices in several major cities to collapse in the near term. When the average family cannot afford to buy the average house things need to get re-aligned. And when retiring people expect to tax young people to maintain a lifestyle based on a ponzi scheme, well................

you sound like me speaking, well, apart from coming at it from a very different perspective.
But I say the line

when the average family can't afford to buy the average home something's got to give.

all the time

But people just can't get it.
I don't know whether you know much of what's happening in Australia, but I have a friend, who is an artist like I am, and a single woman, and has a mortgage of 375 thousand AUD

In what world is that possible?

one with very low interest rates that's for sure.

And the people who just blithely assume that one is crazy to point out that every pension fund in the world, state run and private, is technically insolvent after a decade of ZIRP, and now NIRP too
All in a ridiculous state with riskier and riskier investments chasing yield.

All naked when the tide goes out, as are every country and every central bank too.

All the toxic waste still smoulders away

anyhow, nice shots, that first piece of art in the airport must be a spectacular experience in the flesh.

glad to have discovered you

The photographs in Greece look absolutely spectacular.
The water the landscape it is all amazing.
However there are some tasty raspberries in Montreal so I'm split between the two places haha
Maximus James is absolutely adorable!
Great Photographs @onceuponatime

And Montreal has "Montreal smoked meat" too (but maybe not so many salmon in the St. Lawrence River).

Nice post, how I wish my visa for canada can also be approved after my first refusal. Im hoping it will be successful on my re application so I can see Vancouver! Steem on!

Be careful. Vancouver is a very expensive city to visit. There are many nice places to visit in Canada that are much more reasonable.

First, congratulations to your new hip and also to your sister. Welcoming a new family member is always a pleasure!
I love the photos and I think you a great time in Greece!

I thank you, and my hip thanks you :-)

Greece is wonderful. I hope to be back there soon.

I really enjoyed your post, especially your beautiful pictures from Greece. I always wanted to travel to Greece, because I think it is so beautiful. I am from Poland but live in Canada, BC Penticton. I love Europen countries and their own beauty and history. Thank you for sharing your beautiful pictures.

Hey, I just checked out your introduction post and upvoted it. Good luck in achieving your dreams in El Salvador!

Thank you @onceuponatime The same, I upvoted and followed you and wish you all the best.

Well, welcome back to the Northwest, and thanks for the news update. I expect things will feel quite different from Greece after so long... I can't even imagine. Even when my wife and I go to Denmark for just 3 weeks, it feels like culture shock to come back to the US... even though our small burg in Washington seems as close to European as any in North America.

Looks like at least you're not socked in by the pervasive smoke from the many BC wildfires as of late. Today was the first day of the past two weeks we didn't see the world through a brown haze... and thats 300km to the south.

Oh, and congrats on becoming a great uncle!

Yeah, the smoke never got bad here - the closest fires were many hundreds of kilometers away. But our skies did get a little hazy for a few days last week because winds blew smoke up along the coast and then inland from the mouth of the Skeena near Prince Rupert. Just made the further mountain ranges look a little more mysterious than usual.

Hey that's good news bud!! I live in Montreal hehe🙊😏 but yeah one love for BC though!!:) As beautiful as it is, it's unfortunate that Vancouver is so expensive. I forever wish I could live there again 💗 I hope you enjoyed raspberry season hihi:) take care Hun thanks for sharing!!:) xoxo

I can't hear a French Canadian accent in your writing. You from Claremont or something?

Haha really? Is this a compliment? 😏😘 Im from the west island of Montreal! And yes FRENCH Canadian 🙈

Greece Shame on You ! next time come in Romania we are in Europe too :D

Romania? Aren't there vampires there? :-)

A rather eventful post! Thanks for sharing and I already look forward to seeing the next posting, namaste :)

Awesome post @onceuponatime sir, i really enjoy your traveling the photographs are so attractive and beautiful, Skeena River pics are great.

Very kind of you to say so!

lovely pics!
Congrats! for getting home safe and suffering in such comfort hahaha
and for becoming a grand dad, too - or does that actually not apply to you?
did you grab some raspberries? They're a yum!

My sister is the new grandparent, not me. I did force myself to eat some raspberries, but that is not my berry of choice (strawberries and blueberries are).

hahaha okay okay
you stay young :D
force feeding is suffering from comfort too :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75