Wrack & Ruin: life's hard lessons in forced surrender

in #life6 years ago (edited)

ce2847a3-7e1b-4a9c-ac8e-530130793965.jpeg


More than once of late I have wondered how it is that I am still here. I am not prone to exaggeration so believe me when I tell you that a series of storms tore through my life and left nothing but wrack and ruin.

I would like to tell you a story of redemption, courage, unbreakable spirit. Alas, that is the stuff of one hour episodes, 8mm reels digested in two hours or less - stories tied in bows that allow us to skip away comforted by the fact that everything happens for a reason and it is all for the best really.

Reality is not literature. I do not know why these things happened and the compression of them in to a neatly tied package that I can point to and say "Ah so THAT is why" removes the reverence that must be held for what has been lost.

What I do know is that I have learned a thing or two. I learned that I had sown my existence on rocks and thorns. I learned that I know nothing about anything with any certainty that stands up under a strong wind, and that hope is a slippery sliver of moon that can be anhilated.

My hope has occassionally been reclaimed in one thought: something has moved through my life with intention, and there is a fifty-fifty possibility that the thing is benevolent. Someone said to me yesterday that sometimes all that is left is to admit defeat.

I have always been a brawler, when life knocks me down I stand back up, fists raised. And so, if I was ever to learn to surrender it had to all be torn down. I have been left with no other option but to bow my head and acknowledge that I am not in control and lack the strength to combat this force.

I sit among the ruins of this life, sifting through the rubble, holding things up to the light, inspecting their value and usefulness, determining whether they can withstand colliding storm fronts. I am seeking new foundations, things that will not bend or break under the most trying of conditions. Most is thrown to the wind, useless. Humility is all that has made the cut.

___________

Steemit has given me a chance to revisit some of my favourite combinations of words and pictures. This was written as I began to learn to stand again after my sister's sudden death in 2016 and the year of personal turmoil that followed.

The image was taken at sunrise at North Curl Curl in a lesser known spot I had always wanted to visit for it's hopeful message. It is not one of my technically best images but it is one of my favourite shots all the same for what it represents about my life at that time.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play | IOS

_______

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:

Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog

You can also find me on LinkedIn

Sort:  

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of 21 April 2018!

Whoo hoo, @onethousandpics! Congrats on another feature!

Thanks guys, appreciate the support <3

I love your writing, life can sure be a crazy ride. Good that you have an outlet here on steemit! I love the photo as well, beautiful colors and with the writing on the cliff feels very relevant. Followed, voted & resteemed :)

Sam thank you. That is so generous.

yeahhh...great writing ..steemit is the place to combinate words and picture....and awesome yellow and pink colors of the pict was really attrached my attention :)

I am glad you liked it. That sunrise was quite pretty. I have another version with muted tones I am writing something for that I will post eventually.

So much ❤️ for this!

Tip!

Thank you! I love the idea of tipping content I really like. What a genius idea. My little bitty voting power does not cut it sometimes.

Yep, I was so psyched the first time someone tipped me, and I found out it was a thing! I even did a post about tipu yesterday on the helpie page - I'm becoming a bit of a tip fanatic. LOL!

I am off to read them. It is such a great idea when you have a measly little vote like mine.

Feel free to shout out with any questions! I'm not an expert, but I've pestered the creator of the bot enough that I have a pretty good understanding. 😆

Roger that, I will call on your expertise for sure

Oh, I like you! :) Gritty realness and appreciation of beauty mixed together is I guess what I'm hoping for when I read posts here

I like you too. Your posts made me smile this morning 😊

Beautiful writing. Hopefully, you will get better as your journey continues. Just have to follow your blog.

P. S: LOVE THE PHOTO

Thank you! I am flattered ❤

Loading...

Hi @onethousandpics! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85