You Complete Me: on finding the other half of my rainbow and other absurd notions

in #life6 years ago (edited)

400b40a2-18e2-494e-8d87-0acd93525f41.jpeg


Rainbows are a complete circle. We only see half of them because of our perspective. Where does the rest go? Is someone on the other side of the world simultaneously gazing in wonder at the other half of my rainbow?

As a woman in 2018 I am supposed to know that I, also, am a complete circle and to scoff at such idiocy as "you complete me". I am supposed to understand that I am whole just as I am without requiring Mr Arsey Darcy to tell me so. I have spent five years mostly out of relationships in order to permenantly attach the other half of my rainbow to my soul without the aide of a bloke. I have plumbed my depths and come up short. An itch of emptiness here and there that I can't quite scratch.

Most days I feel the circle close around me and a sense of wholeness descends on my heart. Yet there are days when I wonder whether someone on the other side of the world is looking at the other half of me because it feels so far away.

This weekend I am disconnecting, the itch starting to niggle too often. It is only regular time in the wilderness that closes the other half of this circle around me in a way that sticks tight. Until it loosens and begins to drift away. Then the answer is always the wild ... always. It is never, ever, Tinder. Remember that.

_______

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:

Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog

You can also find me on LinkedIn


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Sort:  

That’s an amazing rainbow photo. Did you take it?

And, I agree women “don’t need a man to complete” them. However, we humans do need the soul deep connections of loving relationships between equals.

Personally, I think when we realize our completeness, when we are fully actualized in ourselves, that it’s a natural outreach to want someone with whom to share our lives. That’s when we are ready for that deeper connection in a loving relationship, when we are ready together to complement and answer the emotional needs of one another, and to build that long-lasting, forever relationship between equals which all humans so crave and romanticize.

That sounds like the ideal. I think though that the loving relationships between equals can be enjoyed in so many ways that are not about another half completing you. Friendships are beautiful when they are that.

Oh sorry, yes I did take the shot. It dropped right in the field across the road from where I was staying and in my frantic rush to get my camera all that was left by the time I was ready was this end of it in the field.

Lol. I'm single all the time. And now I'm on the other side of the world. He's not here either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86