You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Venting About Facebook

in #life6 years ago (edited)

When someone copies my 4K video from YouTube and uploads a 720p version to their own FB account, it gets 1400 views in less than 2 days; until I shut him down. If I convert my original to 1080p and upload it to my FB account, it gets 10 views if I'm lucky :/

One finger salute warranted.

Sort:  

Wow! I've never even experienced that side of it. Even worse than I thought. They are terrible in so many ways.

Sometimes I get emails from friends telling me they found my work plagiarized on FB. It's the reason I have a FB account; I only joined about 1.5 years ago so I could verify the videos were my work. I did find that FB is a convenient way to get in touch with musicians all over; something I often need to get permission to publish their original compositions. I don't want any copyright issues. Just burns me that a thief would get the views while I don't. If the work was worth stealing I figure it's worth the views going to the original creator.

There is a lot to that algorithm. The thieving account probably posts often, has a lot of followers who react, and promotes their posts on other social media accounts. You are also uploading directly to FB and that counts for something, but other than that you may not be doing as many of the things FB likes. Bottom line, FB has given more authority to their entire account than to yours, so anything they post will get wider exposure.

I had the same experience with two of my own accounts. If I post on one of my pages, maybe 3 people will see it. Post the same thing on another of my pages and hundreds will be shown it, even though both have roughly the same number of followers. These things above are what differentiate those two accounts.

That's what I mean by my having had to adapt my behavior to fit their algo. I know what they want me to do, and I have done it in the past. But I'm fed up with it.

In one case the FB account belonged to a Bar owner who used my video to promote the band playing at his club. All he had to do is link to my YT video, but instead he decided to copy it. If he had only asked, I would have made him a video with the Bar info in it, ..for free.

I know how to manipulate Search engines and such, but I just don't feel like gaming the system after 2 days of recording/editing, and yes, his account has many followers and activity.

For me FB is just a means of communication, sometimes I ignore it for weeks if I don't need it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86