What My Father Told Me #11: The Past Cannot Be Changed

in #life6 years ago (edited)

download (16).jpeg

Chief Friday Onyema is my dad.
The very first chief in my community and a reknown leader. He served his people right, resolving their boundary issues with neighbouring villages, overseeing peace keeping missions and ensured peaceful coexistence in my hometown.


Stop Crying Over A Spilt Milk is one of my favourite quotes, dad said.

One day, dad called I and my siblings just before leaving the house for work and asked us what edible thing he shouod buy for us...

We all made our choices, I demanded for boiled egg. In the evening, dad came back from work and we all gathered to get our gifts.

Guess what, he actually bought them. He distributed it and gave us our demands. After pilling my boiled egg, the stubborn egg fell on the floor just when I was about eating it. I began to cry.

I cried for for minutes dad refused to pet me or allow anyone tell me sorry. After a while, I felt bad. Left the sitting room down to our bedroom to cuddle the pillows. Few minutes later, dad called me out, sad me down and said, "tears can't fix it. The past is gone. You can only accept it and move on".

images (41).jpeg

He wet on to say, "the beautiful thing about life is that WORRYING doesn't help any situation.

  • If you can fix it, "then why worry" Just go ahead and fix it.
  • If you can't fix it, "then why worry". Admit you can't and live that way.

IMG_20180511_112114_732.jpg

The past is gone, and will never be edited, formatted or changed. You can only accept it and live on. If there is anything that needs to be worked on or changed, it's the future. And you do that by acting today.

Be Wise!!!


DQmfZoXUDraUghMkEQVJGXejkmqG8xx96QVuotaXYC3ka3v.gif


Do You Like This Post, Then Checkout Previous Episodes

What My Father Told Me #1

What My Father Told Me #2

What My Father Told Me #3

What My Father Told Me #4 : Laziness Is Suicidal


Have you ever received some level of financial freedom on steemit?

Do you belief the steem blockchain can wipe away poverty in the world?

Then join me as I wage a steem war against poverty

Join the tag "steemwaragainstpoverty"

Join our Discord Channel : Steem War Against Poverty

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV (1).gif

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

He was absolutely right. no one can past can't change.. But one can build his future..

Congratulations @onyemacourage! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You got a 6.79% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @onyemacourage!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80