Move your ass! Life's too short.

in #life6 years ago

Comfort is the enemy of progress!*

I was born in a small working town in industrial Britain and by the time I was mid twenties was earning a six figure salary in the heart of London's financial centre. I threw the dice and gave it all up. I drove my mother mad - "Why do you want to give up a perfectly good job?" she would protest on seeing me book another long trip somewhere she didn't fully understand.
"Because I can, and every new venture, every trip, I come back and do bigger, better, greater things." I'd try to explain.

And it was true, but back then I didn't have a family, no dependants, I was free and easy and had non of the worries or fear that comes with having a family, but how many of those fears and worries are real or justified?

I'm now in a situation where I'm living comfortably in a beautiful Caribbean town running my own, very successful business and the voice is in my head again - Move your ass! Life is too short. But instead of my mother, it's now my wife that's questioning my desires, indeed why give up such a beautiful life while I've got everything here.

But this is so applicable to anyone, anywhere. They offer up the solution of 'maybe next year', 'maybe when the kids grow up', 'maybe when we pay off the car...' and comfort sets in, the numbing comfort that's laced with consumerism to dull the boredom. If we buy things, bigger things, anything we get a short rush, but then of course we have to pay for it, and that binds us even further into the cement.

So make a pact, let's get out, let's get at 'em. Have no fear, and seize the day! Because if you don't shake things up yourself, life will shake things up for you, on it's terms!!

* P.T. Barnum

ormism.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @ormism! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62788.74
ETH 2974.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60