Once when I was younger..

in #life6 years ago (edited)

2ec8c4be-4df8-45cd-897b-096264de224b.jpeg


This is me. I am 5. I wear the nightgown you made for me, Mama. It is my favorite, it is tearing in places but I know you'll sew it fixed. It's soft like your skin, and smells like home. I am impressed that you made it for me, and one day in the future I will look at a picture of myself wearing it and wish that I still owned it, not knowing where it eventually found its end.

And, Papa, I wear your big, old work shoes because they remind me of how big you are in my little world, and they make me feel like I'm big like you, too. I don't know yet of the sadness that lies outside the driveway, I haven't yet started school, I don't know where my own shoes will take me yet. I don't know what it feels like to really be "big," to be grown up.. to lose a grip on my childhood.

I don't yet know about the boys who will tell me I'm ugly and that I look like a boy in 7th grade. I don't know yet how much my heart will fall in love with the best friends I will make, and how much it will break one day when I realize that I've lost touch with them forever.

I love your big hat and it makes me feel like a cowboy. I don't know yet that one day I won't like cowboys because I love the beautiful cows more than the rough boys. When given the chance to save a cow or a cowboy, I have learned that I'll always come home with the cow.

I miss you, young me. I wish I could go back and tell you some important things to save you some grief along the way. But I know you well enough to know that you'd never believe me. You'd think you could change things. You'd think I was a pessimist.

You don't even know what that word means yet. Your word for that is grouch. Like Oscar. Oscar might well have been an optimist. Mightn't he have? If only Big Bird could have saved him.


The photo is mine. I don't know who took it. Probably my mom. Maybe my dad. Maybe even my Grandad. Someone special took it. The credit goes to Someone Very Special in 1980.
Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Oh, this is an awesome post!
Some days it's both hard and easy to look at those pictures of when you were young and the memories the flood your mind with...

That is the truth, indeed..

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

You have a gift to write, Serena
If I could go back and talk to my younger self...
Yet... She never left, she is here in me, she is me, never left her...
I think I never failed her either
And that was sometimes a big burden

Very clear she's still there.. you have such an innocence about you that is so rare to see. A thing of beauty. ♥

Beautiful post. You're a vivid writer.

The flowers behind you seem look amazing, do you know where this photo was taken?

Honestly, this makes me wanna share something of mine...

Oh, yes.. you should definitely share something of yours. I'd love to see. I know exactly where this was taken, it was in our driveway in front of our house. My mom planted those orange marigolds.. today there is a row of dogwood and redbud trees in that space and it is green and brilliant. ♥

I love this post. Makes me think of myself when I was little, so many memories thought to be lost. I'm still that little boy I was back then, but with so much more weight resting on my shoulders.

Sometimes when things come together, I allow myself to be that boy again, putting off that weight I collected through the years and I remember how it feels to be genuinely happy and content...
Again, thanks for this Serena! 💞

This is a cute photo & full of nostalgia

Even the photo-credit at the end is lovely and original; you are as talented as you are sweet :-) <3

Yep... I feel this.🙏
And I also have a feeling your ‘young me’ is still very much with you.😉

So cuuuuuuuuute :D Beautiful post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01