SUCH A WONDERFUL TIME OVER AT @MERICANHOMESTEAD YESTERDAY... THAT WE ARE GOING BACK TODAY!

in #life7 years ago

Might this be one of the largest gatherings of steemians in the United States too?


For those of you who do not know, @mericanhomestead is currently hosting a week-long campout right now. You can find out some more at their latest post linked here. Soon, @mericanhomestead will be sharing even more about it, but after my visit yesterday, I had some great stuff to share.

This campout isn't a steemit meetup, but there happens to be a lot of steemians there. Though we were not able to attend the entire event, we did show up for a while yesterday afternoon, and when we did, many people there knew who @papa-pepper was already!

The fellowship and interaction was incredible, so much so, that we are planning on heading back again today. Between those that I have already met previously and the new ones I met yesterday, there are a lot of interesting people there.

FOOD!

Our dinner last night was a pot-luck style deal, complete with a roasted lamb. Not only was the lamb cooked over an open fire, but it had something special inside too!

No, it wasn't a pinata, but instead was filled with some apples, garlic, other foods, and even a few peppers! Yes, @papa-pepper approved!

@Mama-pepper, the @little-peppers, and myself enjoyed our dinner so much! It was a very delicious buffet!

THE GARDEN

When it comes to growing things, @mericanhomestead is a lot like @papa-pepper. Anything interesting that makes sense to grow might show up, as long as it can produce in our area. I wasn't sure what these ten foot tall plants even were when I walked by!

As it turns out, they are a type of Sugar Cane! I had never seen ones with the seeds on top before. I guess the varieties grown for commercial production don't usually produce seed heads like this.

Being as generous and kind as he is, @mericanhomestead even gave me a seed head to grow my own! How cool is that?

This stuff is a type of "Egyptian Spinach" which may be even healthier than Kale. I snacked on some and will have to get some seeds once they are ready. I had never seen this type of plant before. Speaking of plants I'd never seen before...

These are Achocha Fat Baby Cucumbers, which I had never even heard of previously. It was getting a little late in the year, but I still tried a few.

I'd definitely recommend trying them and I am hoping to grow some next year. Thankfully, @mericanhomestead even sells seeds for these online at their store. You can follow this link to check it out: https://anamericanhomestead.com/product/achocha-fat-baby-cucumber-seeds/


Anyway, between some great people, great food, great fellowship, and a great garden, I'm really looking forward to heading back. Make sure to check out @mericanhomestead in the coming days to see more about this campout. Also, does anyone know what the largest steemit meetup in the United States has been so far? I think that there may be more steemians here than most of the meetups specifically designed to bring steemians together.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-@dwells-even-showed-back-up-before-i-left



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

We been watching Zach's videos for several years. Hope to meet in person some day.

Cool! We've met up a few times now.

i much impressed this kind of food

wow a steady meal, and a garden full of plants.

A very enjoyable day. Success always for you @papa-pepper

delicious cuisine buddy.

I envie your possibilty to have and live from the land to know its ways and needs, so that you too may gain strength through it! I am a sailor and land is something we can but look at !! steemOn @papa-pepper and @mericanhomestead )

I've been following @mericanhomestead for a while online - before they crossed over to Steemit. Love everything they put out and they make great suggestions - like following you.

Good to see everything is going well in the Ozarks!

Awesome fellowship!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60