First Day of Vacation Trip - Video Link Fixed

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Vacation Begins!


Well let the fun begin! We officially started our vacation by driving down to Panama City Beach, Fl today. I didn’t start documenting the event until we were well into the journey, but at least I got some footage for you guys.

The older I get, the more of a sucker I am for tourist traps. In my youth, nothing on the face of the earth could have deterred me from getting the best time on a trip. I wouldn’t stop to eat or drink, or …..anything. They say with age comes wisdom and I am now definitely more about the journey than the destination. So what if a 5 hour trip take me 7 or 8 hours. I get to stop and “smell the roses” more than I used to and , you know, I like this kind of trip much better!



I made a new friend


One of our first, unscheduled, stops of the day was at an Alligator tourist spot near Eufalua, Alabama that had alligators, large carp, and huge turtles in two fenced-off ponds. My grandson squealed with delight at the sight of the amazing beasts. There is a massive lake near hear where they host pro bass fishing tournaments.



This store sold everything.




I wanted a bonsai tree, but the wife said,”No!”


The next stop was much closer to our destination and it was one of those unique tourist traps that offer you anything you may ever dream of. I’m talking weird candy, alligator heads, t shirts, pickled everything, and unusual jerky.



This store was serious about baggy pants.



Cheddar Cheese Mealworms and Apple Ant Sucker



Look, @galenkp they had kangaroo! I actually enjoyed it!


My favorite purchase of the day was an odd assortment of jerky meat that included gator, kangaroo, and ostrich. They all were extremely flavorful and I wouldn’t hesitate to buy them again. The trip was more than it would have been by just driving straight through and trying to beat an imaginary time limit. The company was interesting the snacks unique and the trip, unforgettable. And really, isn’t that what vacation should always be about…..making memories.


Here is a video of me trying the cheddar cheese mealworm candy. It was actually not bad and from what I understand, mealworms could solve a few of our world hunger problems as well. Definitely needed some minced garlic!!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

MAN CAVE_FINAL.jpg


All That Is Gold Does Not Glitter,
Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost
-Tolkien

Sort:  

You’re not eating one of Australia’s National icons are you! :)

Mate, how good are road trips?! Love them! That store sounds pretty eclectic; We have them here also generally in remote areas, and they sell just about everything. I once bought America Bald Eagle jerky from one. Not really, that was a lie. :)

I reckon you got that vacay off to an awesome start man. Enjoy!

Ps. Check the vid link. Doesn’t work.

Ok I'll check the link thanks. My phone was in the car charging or I would have taken some interior shots. It was wall to wall mayhem!

The link is working for me, I'll check it in the morning on my computer. Big day if snorkeling tomorrow!

Snorkelling

So jelly right now.

Think I have the link fixed. Man, the water was right!

You are a man after my own heart.
Looks like a good trip but your video is outlawed in these parts.
Is this where you went?

That is actually a picture of me when I was younger visiting down here! I had beautiful hair before I became bald!

nice vacation write-up. No worms for me thank you very much.
You're very adventurous ! Looking forward to more posts.

Cant vote as my VPower is well below 75%. need to let it recharge.. I'll be back

No worries, thanks for coming by and commenting. The worms were not bad at all.

A great start to your vacation. Poor skip has been turned in to jerky.

Brother, that jerky was on point! lol

Very good.

have a good vacation, nice trip!
#steemitbloggers

Thank you, so far we are having a blast.

Not sure I could have eaten the cheddar cheese mealworm candy... I love cheddar cheese but.... yeah... just couldn't do it.

GREAT post and looking forward to more of this vacation

Trust me, there will be much much more to come. Tomorrow night we are hitting an all-you-can-eat seafood buffet with crab legs!!! yum

I predict that any belly issues you have on this trip will not be from 'bad water'. Lol

Have a wonderful vacation! Most of our traveling these days is about the destination... Get there, create, crawl home dead butt tired. Next summer we are planning on taking a trip for fun and play... I wish it to be like this!

Keep the curiosities coming!

Trust me, with my eating habits belly issues are a regular. I can't wait to see your documentation of the trip.

wow pictures of the crocodile and so close :-))

Cheddar Cheese Mealworms and Apple Ant Sucker
:'( I think I can't do it, but kuddos for trying those

They were not bad at all.

Being an old truck driver I never had the time to stop it was go and go some more. Now when we get away from the homestead we slow down and see the sights too. You are in my neck of the woods and there is a lot to see so enjoy yourself. Have fun and be safe!

P.S When you post a vid link from YouTube list it as unlisted on YouTube so it will play and not listed as private.
#steemitbloggers

Thank you so much for the tip. I think I have it worked out now.

Slowing down and taking it all in has completely changed my mood toward trips and vacations. Thanks for popping in.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97