out of the ordinary

in #life6 years ago

The past week I've thought a lot about differences and how much it actually affects all of us. I have a love-hate relationship with being different. Some days I like being different with my colorful hair and highlighted cheeks. I even like my acne scars.

but some days are just shit...

IMG_3454.JPG

You feel like an alien and it's so hard to power through those days. You hate the creature that looks at you in the mirror.
Looking like everybody else is the one thing that you wish. You hide all your differences, only laugh when others laugh. Even though you don't stand out anymore the feeling of being judged lingers in your mind.

sadly I get those bad days regularly but throughout the years I've learned some things that help me get through them:

  1. Find songs that make you feel good. They can be sad or happy– you just need to feel safe in those songs.
  2. Sleep. I think that it's quite self-explanatory. It really is one of the best cures.
  3. Pamper yourself. Do a facemask, take a bath, watch a movie.
  4. Be a bit nostalgic. I have a box where I store things that bring me joyful memories and when I'm down I really enjoy looking into it.

Of course they don't always save me so if you have something that helps you not feel like an alien leave it down in the comments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82