Upgrade time #1

in #life6 years ago

Hello,
recently I promised you that I will write about the changes that my computer is waiting for. Now looks that:

IMG_20180916_132454.jpg

I like it even now but I will have to change it.

A few months ago I started my adventure with Linux. The beginnings were quite difficult but now when I use it every day I can not imagine working on another system. The only thing that bothers me in it is a small number of games optimized for this environment. After a long search, I found a solution - virtual machines. Installed on KVM Windows uses 95% of the graphics card but the latter. It is this problem that will force me to change the ITX format on mATX. Temmu problem can be remedied if you have integrated graphics such as in Intel processors but I do not intend to change the processor.

First, I had to choose the case. I found two candidates: Phanteks Enthoo Evolv mATX TG and Fractal design mini C.
I really did not like the leg in the Fractal, so I chose Phanteks option. 81gZLe+xHjL._SX425_.jpg

Then I wanted to choose the motherboard, to my surprise I could not find a board with a good power section. The best I've found was AsRock b450m PRO4. 13-157-843-V07.jpg

It is the turn of the power supply. I did not have to wonder here because I have the perfect candidate from the previous build - Corsair RM750x.rm750.png

You also need to ensure good air circulation and what is even more important to me personally - silence. Here I will use the parts from the previous build - three Silent wings 3 140mm PWM. They will replace the original Phantex fans.
1000142_2_i500.jpg

Cooling the processor will be replaced for a bit more efficient and better composing. Yes, you guessed it also comes from the previous build -BeQuiet Dark Rock 3. b9667f23f9e6f777190814d1179fcdff.jpg

And of course, the perpetrator of all this confusion - second GPU - MSI gt1030 lp. It had to be a one-slot construction because it would only fit there. Another requirement was to have an HDMI and DP output because two monitors would be connected to it, the first 3440x1440 and the second 2560x1080.
msi-gt-1030-2gb-lp-oc-edition-graphhics-card-1000px-v1-0003.jpg

As a compliment, I decided to buy a disk on the m.2 connector. This will be the same disk that I described in the previous article - Corsair MP500 240GB. D1bk9kpTURBXy85ZDYzOWQyNzM4YWJhOTU1NzkxMjBiYTBjMDdmNTFhOC5qcGeSlQLNArwAwsOVAgDNArzCw4EBAQ.jpeg

The donor of the rest of the part will be my current computer.

Sort:  

good content

Good luck with your project! Building my own computers has always been a hobby of mine as well, but I always build mine from the scrap pile haha. As a result they are never that great, but I love doing it. I agree about the lack of native games for Linux, that’s the reason I still use two systems. (My machines are not good enough for VM and new games).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66