It's all about self fulfillment!

in #life6 years ago

Inspiration

Sometimes I really have the urge to post something on the Steem blockchain, but I just can't get anything remotely interesting onto my screen. And then it happens... You read a post by someone you weren't even following and you get inspired. This has happened to me a lot before, but not like this time.

This afternoon I stumbled upon this post by @edicted. Really, check his blog out, truly a smart, witty character with great thoughts and ideas.
In this post, he talks about why his payouts suddenly started to bring much more money. And how he is surprised how this platform is literally slowly changing his life. Especially for him, and for me too. It is never really about the money, but about the recognition. Ok, the money is nice, but it only brings a little more peace of mind and some comfort. The real deal is the self fulfillment you get, when your posts, your thoughts, your brain farts, your whatever get noticed and esteemed by others. That feeling can't be bought by all the money in the world.

170712145639_1_540x360.jpg

Call me an idealist

That last sentence sounds so tacky, but I truly mean that. In my professional life, I am an insurance broker and this age is really not the best time to be one, financially speaking. But I pull myself trough it, and the money is just a means of living. The real deal is how my customers value my work. Money is necessary of course, because we all like a nice standard of living. But that can not be the only thing that thrives you. At least not for me.
Call me an idealist, if you like, but making my customers happy is the best feeling there is. Then comes the money. It wouldn't work the other way around.

Steem is the same in many ways

This blockchain, where your work gets estimated by the others that are using this blockchain, is very much the same thing. Posts and comments get valued by others. The money is nice, but getting paid by an upvote from a upvote bot you paid for yourself does not give you the same feeling as a nice upvote from someone that truly estimates your work. And what do we call that? Self fulfillment. Being happy about being estimated for your work. Nothing more, nothing less.

Self-actualisation6.jpg

So what is my advice for my fellow steemians? Write, paint, vlog, etc... about what you truly care about, not about what you think people will like. The fulfillment will be way bigger when something you like gets liked by others. Ok, it can take a while, but believe me, sooner or later, someone will notice your work and value it. Like what is happening to @edicted right now.

Thanks again, @edicted, for the inspiration, you have a new follower, and you inspired me, how's that about fulfillment!

Cheers,

U5dtRZFV2oB4ikavmn5CniyfhMWL7N5.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted, your friend from steem follower
https://old.steemfollower.com/?r=4599

The money is nice, but getting paid by an upvote from a upvote bot you paid for yourself does not give you the same feeling as a nice upvote from someone that truly estimates your work.

There is no sense of fullfilment in a paid bot... I always get happy when my posts make it past 1 buck, because i know that people found my work deserving and spent the time to read it :) Some people auto upvote me because they know my content is good, and thats ok too because some of them come around to check once in a while to see what i'm up to

Going to check @edicted posts since i never read them... Trying to follow every steemian is hard, there is only a x amount of hours in a day right xD

Hey, beautiful post. I started following you because i love inspiration articles.

I will be very obliged to you if you can upvote my posts as it can help me to grow on steemit. Follow me if you find my articles good.

Posted using Partiko Android

You write as writer.. Very well written. You are very well versed in writing. Keep up the good work. I wanna tell that my all friends.. but I can't write like dat u.. so I resteem Ur post.. thanku

Your point is right. I'm just new in steemit, I enjoyed your talks very well I have seen in these few days only that people are working to buy Steam Power in steemit to earn money, so their reputation is also bigger. So please Sir, tell me if you should buy a steam power to earn money.?

Plz upvote me n comment.
I hv done

that's good article brother! i like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87