Boats And Anything That Floats!

in #life5 years ago

IMG_0091.JPG

By now all you readers must have realised that I love boats, boats and anything that floats! My love of boats started at a young age when my Dad bought a small sailing dinghy called a Pram (called an Optimist today) for my brother and me to learn to sail in. We lived by the sea in Muizenberg Cape Town and there was a lagoon nearby called Sandvlei where we launched it.

optimist.jpg
Optimist (Or Pram) Photo Pixabay

The two of us had great fun – we didn’t have a clue what to do and we used to sail across to the other side of the lagoon, jump out, turn the dinghy around by hand, and sailed back again. We didn’t know how to come about or anything! It didn’t take long before the bug bit us and soon we upgraded to a bigger dinghy but unfortunately it got stolen from the boat club! We were devastated! A friend of my Dad took pity on us and lent us his dinghy that he didn’t sail anymore and we spent many years sailing competitively at the Imperial Yacht Club on Sandvlei.

In 1966/7 after college I worked as a deck hand on ship, the Suiderkruis (Southern Cross) that was being delivered to South Africa to be converted into a fish meal factory ship. On the journey from Sandefjiord Norway we had to paint the whole of the topside of the ship. This took us a whole month from the icy December winter in Norway through the hot tropics of the Equator to Cape Town.

suiderkruis.jpg
The Suiderkruis - Before And After Painting

Then in 1973, as a newly wedded couple, my wife and I went on a trip of a lifetime to the Seychelles and back as crew on the yacht Nkwazi with her parents that took five months. I will blog about the trip if anyone is interested.

1971 - nkwazi - marina glades.jpg
1972 - Me On Nkwazi At Marina Glades

I then purchased a Hobie 14 catamaran and sailed competitively in local and national events during the 70’and 80’s.

my hobie 14.jpg
My Hobie 14

I became involved in the local National Sea Rescue Institute and served there as a coxswain and Station Commander. I was involved in many rescue operations that saved lives and assisted vessels in distress.

21-Spirit-of-St-Francis-II-620x410.jpg
Spirit Of St Francis Bay. Photo NSRI.

I also inherited an open sailing boat from my wife's father called Sterretjie (Little Star). We used to sail out to sea and also with the kids on an inland dam.

herald clip 72.jpg
Sailing Sterretjie In The Bay

sterretjie - day sail.jpg
Sterretjie On The Dam With The Kids

At present I am skipper of a canal boat on Marina Glades and take tourists and holiday makers for trips around the waterways. See my recent blog https://steemit.com/travel/@petertheo/i-am-skipper-of-a-canal-boat

skipper peter.jpg
Me On The Quaysyde Barge

Today my wife and I love to go on a cruise ship whenever we can. We’ve been on a Caribbean cruise three times and our coast three times. We also did a cruise from Genoa to Durban via the Suez Canal!

IMG_2091.JPG
Leaving Durban On A Cruise To Mozambique

I suppose you could call me an old salt!

Credit: My photos and blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63159.84
ETH 2972.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57