Back after quite a few years.

in #life3 years ago

A good few years have past since I posted anything on my blog. We have had a riotous few years, elections in the USA, a world that has become increasing divided and of course the elephant in the room, Covid-19.

photo-1584707824245-f67bad2c62d5.jfif
Image Source
Who would have thought what was awaiting us only 2 years ago? Today we have awoken to a different world. Will things ever get back to what was normal just a few years ago? I have my own opinions, I don't think the world is ever going to be the same.

This divided world is here to stay I am afraid. Being a South African we are fairly high on the pandemic casualty list. Personally I have experienced loss, seen loved ones age overnight, jobs have been lost and all around my town a closed shops have become a common sight and everyday one hears of another business going bust.

We have just passed the second wave of the pandemic and with Autumn and Winter approaching a third wave looms.
For me, a 73 year old, there is still no vaccine in sight and with age and comorbidities the future is still uncertain

photo-1533157961145-8cb586c448e1.jfif
Image Source
Skype and Zoom have replaced those friendly chats with friends. Churches are slowly reopening but will we ever trust crowds again? Do I want to go to a sports meeting, a music festival or hang out at my social club? I think the world we are rapidly moving towards is one that I really don't care for. Conspiracy theories are everywhere. I tend to avoid social media these days as it has become a gathering place for people who have been changed by the pressures of this pandemic life. I no longer understand many of my friends and acquaintances, how was this possible in so short a time?

photo-1554068292-ce72e2521c9f.jfif
Image Source
I feel as though I am no longer a free agent and I fear a even bigger clampdown is coming. The world is more connected than ever but with that comes the specter of thought control and the erosion of free speech.

From my missive I probably appear to be pessimistic, I am, yet deep inside there is a part of me that wants to see a glint of sun among the clouds. How do we overcome the psychological damage that all of this has caused? We have a lot of healing to do. Most importantly we need to reach out across our divided peoples and offer a hand of friendship.

photo-1531170515419-b26209bbe710.jfif
Image Source
Let's tone down the hate speech, who is profiting from it? It sometimes seems that there is a dark agenda here somewhere, we are losing our humanity.

photo-1515176267281-2e0313e01cbb.jfif
Image Source

Steemit logo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78