You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Friends with the Coming Machines

in #life7 years ago

You should be writing Science Fiction! I like your article, I am not sure that many people realise that we closer to AI sentience than we think. We have had dire warnings from many in the scientific world, we need to take this seriously. We must not be fooled by cute looking robots with big child-like eyes, they are not our friends. Why is DARPA so interested in Deep Mind Learning? Big Dog may look funny to us but is going to be used in troop backup. Already there are plans for robots as autonomous killing machines, will they be used in combat? Of course they will. Science Fiction Writer Isaac Asimov proposed the three laws of robotics which I am sure you are familiar with. We need to put something similar (As you mentioned) into effect as soon as possible.

Sort:  

I have mixed feelings about Isaac Asimov's three laws. It seems to me too much like created a subservient race of beings which, historically, has always led to resentment and conflict. As well, I, Robot has an interesting example of how those three laws could conceivably be twisted to justify precisely the type of violence it's intended to prevent.

I think people are too apt to think of robots as a threat to be controlled rather than a new life form to be communed with as equals. That's just my take. Though, using them as autonomous killing machines is definitely a cause for concern....

As for writing science fiction. Interesting idea. I've never considered it. That could be fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66