My Son Almost Drowned

in #life6 years ago

We were at my in-laws house, my brother in-law was getting married and his in-laws were coming for a dinner. There was at least 20 people in the house, they're both large families with over 5 kids each and there were a other relatives and people there. My son who was 3 at the time is severely autistic, you can read about him in my older posts if you wish, and we have to keep and eye on him 24/7 and can't trust anyone else besides his very awesome teachers to watch him because they just don't understand..

Other people convinced us he was fine to play with the kids, on of the kids left the door open, there was a raised deck it was the 2nd floor but you could walk down stairs to an above ground salt water pool that was completely green and slimy. I went out for a cigarette and saw something bobbing up and down in the pool out of the corner of my eye and said somehting like "WTF is that? a turtle" quickly followed by "NO ITS A KID ITS ABE!!" my son was under water and struggling to get out, we both ran down the stairs my wifes uncle jumped in and pulled him out and i got him and made sure he didnt swallow water..

I couldn't move after this, I was in shock. I still have visions of him under the water and along with the knowledge that he would have for sure died if we didn't go out at that exact moment he would be gone forever it is a nightmare that will never go away. This is not the first and was not the last major accident or life-threatening situation he has gotten himself in, and this is why I do not let him go to daycares or babysitters. Life is hard and its hard to do anything to be honest. Sometimes he will be so sweet and calm but the wrong noise can set him off on anyone including strangers, and even worse his curiosity can make him run away or bolt out into traffic.. He is already almost as tall as his mother and extremely strong..

Some of you at that point may be thinking if I wish he had drowned or had never been born and the honest truth is that I would never give him up no matter what he is one of the best things to ever happen in my life. He and my daughter can always make me feel better on a bad day when i see them playing and smiling.

I am glad he is here.

Sort:  

Im sure your son is proud to have you as his parent ❤️ Im glad hes okay!!

You have received an upvote from @nicestbot. I am an automated curation bot trying to make minnows happy.

This post has received a 5.17 % upvote from @boomerang.

You got a 21.70% upvote from @steembloggers courtesy of @pinkdaddy!

Release the Kraken! You got a 2.39% upvote from @seakraken courtesy of @pinkdaddy!

You got a 3.89% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @pinkdaddy!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

You got a 14.53% upvote from @sunrawhale courtesy of @pinkdaddy!

This service has been created with the help of @yabapmatt so please show your support by voting for him for witness!

In the fight of Humans vs Bots, @megabot defended you with 12.37% upvote courtesy of @pinkdaddy!

Support @Megabot by delegating SP to the bot and get a part of 80% of @Megabot's profit.

Direct delegation links : 10 SP || 50 SP || 100 SP || 500 SP || 1000 SP || Any other amount of SP

Thank You !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78