Needed to talk... These times when i feel lost in life.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

I've hesitated to write this article, but i think it's a good idea which can help me to get better. As a very introvert person, i have difficulties to communicate with people. So, be able on Steemit to speak to a lot of people only by writing is surely a very good opportunity. (I always loved to write and express my feelings by it.)

I'm not in a very good mood since one week ; it has begin when i seriously begin to work on my second session exam (i don't know how to say in english?) It made me fall back into bad memories of this year and of my school.

For reminder, i do studies in computer graphics, more particulately in illustration and animation.
Yes, it looks very cool, i thought that too.

Two years ago, when i finished my high school years, i was litteraly lost. Lost in the vastness of the world and choices.
And my big problem of self-assurance had definitely made it more difficult. My parents have always sur-protected me, and it made me very dependent of my parents and people more broadly ; i had a lot of fears and powerless to made choices by myself and dare to do things in life.

So, back to my teenager, what i wanted to do in life ?
I had a big changeover period at the age of 16 or 17. I begin to be interesting by things in the world, in political and how society works. (for sure, with a naive eye at this age.)
I really begin to have non-conformist and rebel ideas about the system. I dreamed to big things, i wanted to change the world.
It was my Hippie period. I begin to search about the movement, and find it matched perfectly with my values in life.

photoprofil.jpg

I started to look like an Hippie too. When we are teenager, we often take care of our apparence and try by our clothes to be part of a community, a specific group. And it was also a way for me to show my ideas by my apparence.

Parallelly, as always i had a real love for art. As you know, i do drawings and things like that since i have 13, but i also have a big passion for music.

So, here what my plans for my life at the age of 17 : i wanted to be a famous singer and song-writer, and change the world. It was my secret, i was ashamed to talk about it to somebody, i thought he will laugh at me very well.
I wrote music, i dreamed all the days about success and art world, i passed my time on the internet to know the life of the artists that i admired.
Yes, i really wanted to take place in this area. It has become a real big obsession. I wasn't in reality anymore ; i just lived in the reality of me as a famous artist. Yes, it can be very strange, but i think it was filling an injury that i lived. I never had a lot of friends, i was a very unpopular and mocked girl. I don't know, maybe i was different, more sensitive than the others children, surely.
And i live a period of bullying at 11 that always left an injury in my self-confident. So, this obsession dream was to heal my self-confident problem ; i was obsessed by the idea of pleasing people, of being popular, it was like a sort of revenge.
The girl that they considered as nothing would be a great artist, and famous person.

13735276_593937894107899_1015915579_n.jpg

Back two years ago.
I had to make a choice. And i wanted so much to make music and live my dream.
But I had absolutely no assurance to do so, maybe it protect me, i don't know. By a way or an another, I shoud had to go through this painful phase of reality recovery, because my dream wasn't realistic, and because i wanted to do music for bad reasons.

My entourage wanted to push me in a classic way : do studies, have a reliable job and to have it for the rest of my life, because life is like that, and everyone make that, so do that too.
But with my hippie ideas, and my personnality wich analysis and questions everything, i just don't find the sense in this, and it fact, it was my worst nitghtmare to follow this path. It was my big fear of being obliged to follow this conformist way of live.
I mean, i don't wanted to be slave of this insane and foolish capitalist system. I just wanted to make art and share it with people. And a lot of people laugh of this vision of life ; they find it so naive and unrealistic. But i find their world so disgusting and meaningless.

So, my mother has found for me my actual school. And i think "Oh. It was not my first plans, but i don't know what to do, and how to realize my plans. So.. i think it's a good compromise, an art school, where i will be able to learn animation and to do animation music videos in the future."

And.. I got a real slap in the face. All my dreams were fading away in the benefit of a reality that made me suffer. This school was not an artistic school in the sense that one might think (maybe i was the only ?), but a school who learn to their students to behave into good future capitalists : "art? Yes, it's a good plan to make money. I don't care about what you want to say, it must be popular, it must be cost-effective, and you have to work as fast as possible."

I begin to regret a lot my secondary school, when all our projects was benevolent, teachers were attentive and they wanted us to flourish in these projects.

My actual school turn me last year into a very difficult period, close to burnout. I absolutely didn't fulfilled this need for recognition, i was a student among a lot of talented people, and teachers doesn't knew my name. I just hated all this atmosphere. At the end of the last year, i think about stoping my studies. My dreams were come back, i felt very better at first. But very quickly, the same situation appears : i didn't had the assurance of fight my parents and follow my dreams, and i stayed in the easy way.

IMG_9502A.jpg

Okay.. This article begin to be long, so, i think i had introduce the subject and the problem well, now, let's talk about the present.
I feel very anxious about new school year, saying that i don't want to it will be an eupheumism.
But i can't stop it now, because of everything i said above, and because i can't give up so near from the end, I would have done all this for nothing, and I wouldn't have this paper that supposedly opens the doors to the future...

But one thing have changed compared to last year. I begin to question my past dreams, and begin to think in a realistic way, seeing all the inconvenients. Also, it doesn't match with my personnality. I am not a person who likes projectors, i am not a scene person. I wanted it because i had a lack of recognition (i always had it, i think), but this is not my real nature. I am more the introvert artist, who create in quiet in her room.

But one thought remains, which I cannot get rid of : i am afraid of a future where i would not be famous. (It's a problem, especially since statistically, there's little chance) I have remains like i couldn't find sense in life if all i done cannot be seen by all the world.

And that's all the problem. I begin to think that being famous is not a good idea, but thinking of being unknown made me afread a lot.

So... that's my state of mind at the moment. I feel very lost, I have melancholic phases very regularly.
I don't have real projects, and i don't know what to do in the future, what profession make..

I just know that i want to be an artist, and don't want to follow the conformist path. I think i'm too sensitive for this world, and society has nothing in common with my ideas of life and so on.
In that case, it is very difficult to project yourself into this world, and find a comfortable place in it.

IMG_9523.JPG

Many thanks to all who will read this far... I will be very grateful if you take the time to leave a comment ; i really need to talk at this time i think. I really want to know your experiences, what do you do in life and how did you get to this point, especially for artists.

So, i really want to discuss with someone, you can notified me if you are available, we can discuss on discord or anything.

Thank you all, and have a nice day. :)
See you soon, in a better mood I promise! ;)

Sort:  

Sometimes it's difficult to align our dreams with how we live. We all have to make choices and those choices will not always follow our dreams. Being in school that you don't like doesn't mean that it was a bad choice. Not dedicating 100% of your time right now to your dreams doesn't mean is something bad. All will come together and what should happen will happen. One day you might be able to combine what you study with what you love. Or maybe not and you will do what you love 100% of your time. You are still very young so don't close any doors that are open right now. I understand your insecurities but I am sure that you will find a clear path. Just take it easy and it will all work out :)

Thank you, you're absolutely right :)

Hi @pipoune! I read right until the end, and I think you are facing a lot of difficult choices. You are not alone, though, a lot of artists have battled the same hard roads, and there isn't really a magical answer. I know it is terrifying not to know what you are 'supposed' to do. And that it is even more terrifying to think that we may not amount to anything, at the end. Being 'famous' can be confused easily with a lot of feel-good feedback, and I can relate that it is important to get success, to get acknowledgements from the world.

My parents also are not very supportive of my art, and at the end, I went to a business school. I am now working in a corporate office, with a great pay, but no one in my real life even knows that I draw.

Still, I draw.

Some paths are not as clear cut as they might seem at first, so I wish you all the best of luck :) I hope you will find a great journey ahead where you are able to embrace your aspirations and make them come true :)

Thank you so much for your comment. I hope you are happy in life with your situation, and that you've managed to balance your artistic desires with your job. I think that steemit can help a bit for this. :)

Life has a lot of twists and turns and surprises also. I think it will be wise if you try to stay at school and maybe try to create a circle of likeminded people to share your thoughts and feelings. Not feeling alone is the most important. I fantasize too what will be like to be famous and i can relate in what you wrote about living in the reality of me as a famous artist. Damn imagination. But fame is a construct, sometimes a lie and has nothing to with bringing value to the society. This is how the world changes, by taking a role and try to do the best with it. You have the role of the artist, you will aways have this role but you will have others also. You are talented also, none will ever take it way from you. Leave the others talk about money and how they will use art just as a means to an end, they are cheap people. But i think there must be some among them who feel the same way with you. And with them you could share your thoughts and make this school experience more bearable.

I hope i made you feel a litle better, i am stuck in this comment a lot of time, trying to find what to say:)

Yes for sure!! Thank you for your comment. It is inspiring and it is exactly what i was looking for : be able to exchanges with people and having their advices and life experiences :)

You are very welcome:) I am really happy to see that a lot of people that i appreciate came and said their opinion:)

Hi, I read your post. Entirely. And I must say to you: you are not alone. I don't know how often it happens but I've got dozens of drawings, dozens of songs, hundreds of poems, I even have three unpublished novels. I wanna believe we've all dreamed about changing the world. It's not silly, quite the opposite, it's noble to want to change it. You wanna keep doing your art? your music? do it.
About your school. It's not what you expected, right? but it's a school and I'm sure you must hace learned some tools and some skills. Maybe their philosophy it's not yours but you can seize the things you've learned there and apply them in your own way.
About that period just before starting your superior studies I recommend you listen "The valedictorian speech" by Erica Goldson (it's on YouTube) I know you'll understand her and she'll talk right through you. I know things will work out for you, you'll se, but for now just try to enjoy your present, your music, your talent, and if you wanna talk, well know you're not alone.
Greetings.

Thank you so much for your comment, i really appreciated it.

Congratulations @pipoune! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Sometimes it can be very good to talk out your problems. I personally believe you should continue doing the things you are passionate about, and to not give away your dream. Yes, life has responsibilities, but it should also be enjoyable. It is important to maintain that balance.
Manually curated by @akiroq.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Greetings, @pipoune.
First of all, beautiful photographs. You are a beautiful creature (and pretty talented judging by what you tell us) and should not feel so out of place. I sort of understand where all this come from. I am the father of 4 girls (teens and pre-teens).
I think this world of ours (regardless of continent or language) puts a lot of presure on young people.
It is hard to advice. One part of you want the young version of yourself to do whatever they please, another part wants them to be stable and that means to follow patterns and customs.
I think that all of us have had those wake-up calls you mention

reality recovery, because my dream wasn't realistic, and because i wanted to do music for bad reasons.

Some of our plans or expectations are unrealistic or out of tune with who we are and where we are playing our roles. But even if we want to play the rebel, we should not be so concerned about public recognition. I think that it comes on its own depending on what transcendental our lives end up being.
The fear to be nothing to the world does not match our reality. We, individually, mean very little for the whole universe. Our satisfaction should come from within, from our inmediate loved ones and from a realistic plan that makes us grow instead of frustrating us.
It is not easy to be a young person these days. I give you guys that. Too much information, too much uncertainty/confusion.
Some of our fears and anxiety will be gone in time. They are stages (Aristotle described them in great detail centuries ago in Rhetoric), they come and go.

Thank you so much for your comment. It was very inspiring!
I loved your sentence : "The fear to be nothing to the world does not match our reality. We, individually, mean very little for the whole universe."
I totally agree with this and it is exactly my way of thinking. So.. I have to be in line with my true values! ;)

Hi dear @pipoune and thank you for such post, I am glad you decided to share what you have in your heart and thoughts. It is very important to have someone who you can talk about what is happening in your soul. Sometimes it is easy to put in in writings, because you can think about it, delete something and re-phrase it again. From reading your first post at all I already thought that you are are an Artist soul, very sensitive, fragile with a lot of emotions but that everything is in you inside. You live in your world and enjoy it, your interests, nature and your dog :)

It is difficult to know what is best for your life and what to do in the future. Like my parents told me that with drawing I will not be able to earn for my life. Luckily I like everything that I can do with my own hands and I love to work with people and help them, therefore it was not difficult decision to become a surgeon. Can you imagine that after more than 20 years that I spent for my education and training and now when everything is done and my son is 16 I can concentrate on my hobby. I enjoy my work and my hobby :)

I think you have chosen the right field of study, computer graphics, that is the field where you can express your love to Art. But still you can keep doing your traditional Art too.

There are some really good and supportive professional Artists in Steemit, for example @thermoplastic, he is from Vienna and he used to teach Art too. He is a great supportive person and a guide. I am pretty sure if you get in touch with him you can get great advises in regards to Art. You are so talented, you should not just leave it, but may be to do something parallel. I will drop a line to @thermoplastic about you too.
It was nice to learn you better and stay active, there are many people who are there for chat if you need :)

Thank you so much @stef1 !! :)
I will think about all of this. :)

ehy dear @pipoune, I must confess that I too (and I am much older than you!) do not feel adequate for this world, I feel lost, I do not share most of its values. what I did was try to do less damage than I could.
life choices are almost never easy, but I think in your case it would be more important to work on your self-esteem, because it seems to me (and I apologize if I'm wrong) that you are the first person not to believe in yourself. I mean to believe in yourself now, because you are denying your being present to live in a happy, fulfilling future dream.

this thing that I studied is useful to me: every person inside himself has several "internal parts" that intervene in all situations of life, all the internal parts say something about us and in turn represent us. Every part, even the part that seems to act against our well-being, has a positive role within our system and wants something for us. Our task, as directors of ourselves, is to listen to all internal parties to understand what they communicate to us, to reach a compromise, without fighting or ignoring those we love least, but seeking the collaboration of all for the common goal, which is the well-being of the person.

To give a practical example, at work we can consider our critical part, the creative part and the active part. And we need all of them to work best. In fact, imagine if there was only the cynical critic: we probably would never start with our projects, too busy worrying, exposing our objections, thinking that there are probably better solutions and looking around to see if the neighbor's grass it's always greener. If instead there was only the imaginative creative perhaps we would think only in the abstract, formulating great ideas but without going to practice, passing the time to fantasize and imagine possible scenarios. Finally, if there was only the active part, we would be animated by a continuous push towards doing, probably characterized by the typical performance anxiety, committed to seeking quantity instead of quality.

it seems to me that your critical part is dominating your whole life, suffocating the other parts of you: you should pay attention to what your personal rules are: for example, if our critical part is particularly demanding, so much so that it has succeeded in doing becoming our basic rule of "being perfect", then it will be rather difficult to be satisfied with ourselves by always responding brilliantly to this remarkable aspiration (in your case becoming famous, changing the world, being recognized by all). We could then try to change the rule: if for example we affirm that our standard model is to "always do our best" the question takes on another perspective: we can work on ourselves, ask for help, make mistakes and start again. to make a mistake (or make a wrong choice) is not a failure: it is a test we do, it is a challenge, but it is not something that will kill us. think that whatever happens there is always an alternative.

You can study graphics (or decide for a school closer to your ideas) and continue to make your art with joy (not with the frustration that is useless because you are not famous, but because it makes you happy).
unlock this chain, go ahead: as you grow you will develop new ideas and you will probably see more clearly what is best for you.
if we feel attacked very often this feeling is attributable to the perception we have of ourselves: we must learn not to devalue ourselves so much, the risk is to make victims by letting our good-being in the hands of others.

sorry for this psychological digression so long to read, but I found it useful.
I hope all the best for you, a big hug :-))

Thank you so much for your comment!!
Your psychological analysis was great! ;)
Society only highlight victories and success, always on this idea of growth. But failures are equally important. They allow us too grow at the end. And if we have always sunny days, we should not appreciate them as much as if they are sometimes rainy days.
See you soon, and big hug for you too! :)

exact @pipoune. and then you who are against this society, you who are rebellious and nonconformist, do not let others' judgment condition your life. it is only someone's judgment, of course one can take it into consideration, as an advice, but it is not the truth. it is an interpretation of the truth: everyone has his own and must be respected. What happen? that whoever has a big voice silences the most fragile, who feel lonely and marginalized. but they must understand that this is not the absolute truth, they are ok like the others, indeed maybe more because they do not need to scream.
try to take a look at this too: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karpman_drama_triangle

Karpman drama triangle
The drama triangle is a social model of human interaction – the triangle maps a type of destructive interaction that can occur between people in conflict. The drama triangle model is a tool used in psychotherapy, specifically transactional analysis.

Yes, you are totally right!
People doesn't understand that their vision of world is only and always a subjective vision. Human brain is so complex and open us so many doors! Why being stuck in only one way of life and thinking?

I want to say many things, first you are beautiful as you are, with your thousands of insecurities and wanting to be recognized worldwide, your personality is fantastic, I do not know you but it is no longer from here (on a screen) that you are a good person, second, You must have confidence in yourself to achieve all your goals. Third, you are not alone at all, they are only dips that anyone can have but never think that you will be alone. You will succeed if you only fight for them, good luck dear friend :)

Thank you so much for your comment!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87