LIFE UPDATE + Healthy VEGAN Travel Tips in MEXICO (how to order food)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

tj tour thumb.jpg
Hello Steemit Community Amigos! Buenos dias! Maggie (@veganheeler my pup) and I have made it to Mexico! I can't believe it! On September 1st 2017 I flew to Anchorage Alaska with my bicycle alone and over the past six months A LOT of transformation and experiences have happened!DSC00978.jpg

I rode 4,500 miles south through Alaska, Yukon Cananda, British Columbia, Washington State, Oregon Coast, California, and now I'm here in Mexico!
DSC01629.jpg

I rescued the new love of my life Maggie. She was an obese abused pup and now we live a vegan life of adventure and fun together. #adoptdontshop
DSC06876.jpg

I made a video about buying cannabis in Vancouver that got over 200k views!
Screen Shot 2018-03-02 at 11.58.31 PM.png
Weed became recreationally legal in California!

My body is more inked out in tattoos
IMG_1835.jpg

I've podcasted with amazing people like Brian Turner and Ferdinand Beck (@vegainstrength)
Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 12.01.18 AM.png

And now I'm eating all the mangos I could ever want in Mexico while sharing these experiences with my love Maggie!
DSC07046.jpg

My first week here in Mexico has been amazing. Crossing the border was a breeze, and the first day I made it to my couchsurfing host's place in a little suburb outside of the city called Santa Fe. His apartment was simple and nice. I asked Guerardo how much he pays a month for it (2 stories, a kitchen, 2 bedrooms and a living room) and it's only $125 USD / month! Crazy right?! I had a lovely time in Tijuana. Walked around downtown Revolution Avenue, found a vegan bakery called Mana where I ate soy meat filled empanadas, ate vegan street food, saw some people shooting drugs in their neck on the street (that was sad and crazy) but all in all it was great.
IMG_1730.jpg

We stayed three nights then Maggie and I crushed our longest riding day yet with 100km to Ensenada cycling on the coast over some big hills. 2,500 ft of elevation gain! I am now here in Ensenada in my Airbnb for 10 days ready to explore this city!
DSC07155.jpg

Here are some vegan food tips I have learned already.

  1. Palabras (words) you should know.
    -carne = meat
    -pollo = chicken
    -pescado = fish
    -mantequilla = butter
    -manteca = lard
    -huevos = eggs
    -leche = milk
    When I order food anywhere here is what I say. "Hola! Soy vegano. Solomente como plantas verduras y frutas. No como care, pollo, pescado, mantequilla, huevos, leche, nunca de los animals" They will get the idea and make sure to only give you vegan food.

  2. ALL the tamale stands on the streets I have visited so far have butter in the tamales even the elote (corn) tamales which is a bummer, I hope to find some vegan ones soon.

  3. The best street foods that are always vegan are camote dulce (sweet potato soaked in a bit of sugar) and elote (corn) just ask them to not add butter to it.
    DSC07101.jpg

  4. Here are some words for vegan foods
    -arroz = rice
    -frijoles = beans
    -camote = sweet potato
    -papas = potatoes
    -verduras = vegetables
    -frutas = fruits
    -pan = bread

  5. In every town the streets are dripping with fruits vendors on the roads. Right now there are coconuts, bananas, papaya, and its mango season!
    IMG_1713.jpg

  6. Happycow is an app that is like yelp but only for vegan and vegetarian restaurants so wherever you are in the world you can check if there are plant based restaurants in your area.

Hope that helps! I am so happy to be here in Mexico for the next 6 months.
Any cities or towns in this country you would recommend I check out and stop in for a while!

Much love, DREAM EXTREME, and remember to go watch my DAILY VLOG channel on YouTube (plantriotic) where you can see Maggie and I in action here in Mexico! Adios!!

Sort:  

Honestly such a well written post! You're going to kill it on Steemit.

You just planted 1.85 tree(s)!


Thanks to @brianturner

We have planted already 5778.24 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20598.13
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

This is really well written, I'm going to resteem and get a bot on here to increase the value for you :)

awesome thanks brother!!!

Mexico should truly be a fruit paradise! I am excited to see what kind of landscape you will ride through, have a great start in Mexico 🚴🏻‍♂️🐕☀️

thank so much!

That's an awesome post, thanks for sharing :) I love the food in Mexico, I also posted lately about what I can eat here as a vegan diabetic. Itbis so much fun! I love all the fruitsband veggies here, mangos are my favourites!!!
Keep up the good job my Dear :)

awesome do you live here in mexico? if so where?

I've lived in Playa del Caremen for a year, I moved here last February, but I'm leaving in a week and I'm gonna travel across Chiapas and Oaxaca. How about you? Where are you currently?

Very cool!!!! TJ street food is awesome. Some friends and I used to walk across the boarder and make a weekend of it....years ago!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch . If your post has more upvotes, your post will appear in the trending page. To get more upvotes, you can bid for @steembidbot vote. please check it out here: https://steembottracker.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72