Commuter Series 001: UAE's Capital - Abu DhabisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

GETTING TO WORK PLACE

It'll be a decade since I left the Philippines to work abroad. With God's help, I found a job and stayed at the same company for more than 9 years. 

One of the things that became easy was going to and from work. Yes, gone are the days when I had to decide whether to take one bus ride from Valenzuela to Makati or take several transfers to get to work faster: that means jeepney to LRT or bus to MRT then after the train ride would either be another jeepney ride or bus ride to Enterprise Centre. 

When I got to work in Abu Dhabi, it is so simple: I pay a carlift to get to work and going back home. Fifteen to thirty minutes to get to my destination depending on how many are with me in that particular shift. This type of service will cost around 300 to 350 dirhams a month.

Another option, which I rarely take, is commuting using public buses. We used to call them "baladia buses" from years back. It is cheap that it will range 2aed to 4aed per trip.

 

Unlike the Philippines where public transportation is abundant yet very complicated, Abu Dhabi has only the below and legal options: Taxis and Buses

PUBLIC TAXIS

There are several types you can have:

  1. Standard Taxi - anybody can use. The type of car is a regular 5-seater and can accomodate 4 passengers.
  2. Family Taxi - this has lady driver and can accomodate up to 7 passengers. Designed for families, this cannot be used by an "all male" group. 
  3. Seven Seater Taxi - this can also accomodate (as termed) seven passengers and driven by a male driver. No restrictions on who can use.  
  4. Premium Taxi - this can accomodate passengers with special needs particularly those on wheel chair and can take up to 5 passengers.  

Taxis are paid in cash and can issue receipts. 

PUBLIC BUSES

There are buses going within the city centre and will cost AED 2 each ride, irregardless of the distance and those going to the suburbs which will cost not more than AED 4.

There are also buses that connects Abu Dhabi City to other Regions within Abu Dhabi (western and Eastern). Yes this subtle emirate is just too big as I can imagine! The fares will be a little higher. 

 

At present, passengers need to have a Hafilat Card to pay for the bus fares. This can be availed and reloaded from Abu Dhabi Bus station and from some bus stops. 

KEEPING UP WITH TECHNOLOGY

If you plan to visit UAE's capital, you can arm yourself with free mobile apps that can help you going around. 

 

 Abu Dhabi Taxi App

This app will enable you to book the nearest taxi at your particular location at any point in time. You will be notified by SMS and give the details of the driver. There is a booking fee of AED 5. I'd be recommending this if you are tight with time or when having a hard time getting one manually.

Darb App

This app is used to see which buses arrive and depart at designated bus stops. Real time updates are available and very reliable. 

===============

If this post helped you in someway, please upvote and follow me. Until next time, ate Mais!

@plumandrain

All pictures were taken from my Iphone6+ and screenshots were from Abu Dhabi Taxi and Darb Apps taken from the same phone.



Sort:  

Great post @plumandrain

Upvoted (25%) and Resteemed by @venuspcs.

Want your post to get more attention then check out my Upvote, Resteem & Promote Services!

I see you're not using bus card with picture? Coz some of my friends have bus card with their photo, like an ID. I still have the same card like yours, are they still accepting that card without a photo? Thanks 👍

Both me and my husband has the one with photo. However, I was able to keep this kind which were the first few batches. And yes, they'd still work! :)
So i have both in my wallet so in case I'd like to tag a friend along in the bus, i can lend the unpersonalized one.

Thats great, if ever i need to use the bus, i still have this old card. Thanks 😊👍

Lucky you Myrene. I still allocate 2 hours from my place to work, and then the same amount of time going back home. Just happy that now I can use that time to write posts here. I still take the public transpo to save hundreds of Pesos in comparison to driving. Looking forward to not have to do this in a few years time.

Absolutely, more savings to take the public transport compared to driving your own car!

Whenever I try to commute, I really get lost. Im so not good with travelling.

Sometimes I do ride the bus just to familiarize the route. I started commuting at 4th grade :)

My parents trained me to do so. Unfortunately I take a hard time in remembering routes because they all look the same to me.

I have not been to Abu Dhabi but just like other countries, they do have bus cards like what you have. Very convenient especially for commuters.

Yes they are!

Congratulations @plumandrain! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59