INTRO POST - Poetic Jasmine

in #life6 years ago

I've been planning this post for awhile. I've been hesitant - rolling the words around in my head to try to piece together the perfect combination of words and sentences. This topic is so very close to my heart, and I want to make sure I do it justice. I'm not sure if it's perfect yet, but it's better said - imperfectly - than never said at all.

27501035_10213310726895078_7973138114263065275_o.jpg

This is my friend Jasmine. Miss Jasmine works at my son's daycare, keeping 10 toddlers from hurting themselves and each other all day. To say she herds cats is an understatement. And she does it all with the calm patience and smile of a saint. While what she does for a living is impressive, it's not the purpose for this Steemit account, and this introduction post.

Miss Jasmine is a success story - one that I don't think she gets enough credit for and one that I feel needs to be shared.

She was born into the foster system as the daughter of a druggy. She was moved back and forth through a number of foster homes before she was finally settled in a semi-permanent one.

Unfortunately, she made a series of mistakes and ended up pregnant by a…less-than-nice-guy. Which brings us to today.

She is currently a single working mom, living in a tiny one-bedroom apartment, struggling to make ends meet. The child support she receives is nominal - way less than what is state-required, but to demand more would take money (and subsequently food) away from another single working mom. Oh, did I mention she's putting herself through college as well?

My mom was in her shoes 30 years ago and to say both of these women are heroes is an understatement. I am in constant awe of her strength and grace and perseverance. I'm not sure she truly knows how much I admire her.

So what does this have to do with Steemit? Miss Jasmine, in addition to being a kick ass single mom, is also a poet. Her poetry is sharp, cunning, clever, strong, and feisty. It digs deep into her past and takes you on a journey of pain, vulnerability, nothing-to-lose, dig-deep-down strength. I'll be honest, it makes me a little uncomfortable (because I've never had to face the struggles she has) but art should make you a little uncomfortable, right?

How could I help her? I could just give her money, but I don’t have much I can spare, and I'm not sure she would accept it. I've been giving her excess produce and eggs from my farm, but what else could I do to help her pay her bills?

Then an idea hit me - Steemit. I could help her help herself by posting her poetry on Steemit! She would be able to cash out any Steem or proceeds she earns through her own creativity and beauty! So this account is for her. I'll be managing it - because I have easy access to the internet - but the poetry is all hers.

How can you help? Follow poetic Jasmine - resteem this post and others to follow - upvote her. It doesn't cost you a dime, and it could mean the difference between buying new clothes for her daughter and not.

Please comment with any questions or comments you have and I will be sure to pass them along to her - I'm truly passionate about helping someone already fighting for a better life for herself and her daughter. I want to ease her financial burden a little so she can focus on school and work and taking care of herself and little Miss Ester.

Thank you so much for your time and support.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit family! Good luck! I am sure that you will fully enjoy your journey here:)

Hello and Welcome to Steemit.


Welcome to Steem @poeticjasmine.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Great idea I hope this goes far on steemit!

Welcome @poeticjasmine and good luck <3

steemitComment.png
We are excited to see you join us here! Steemit is a remarkable platform that is built to reward users for creating quality content. Its a logic called proof of brain.

As for TechChat, think of us as DJs that create tech content instead of music. We create content by looking for the most shocking, interesting, and exciting breakthroughs in the tech space. Basically - we do all the research so you dont have to.

We hope to hear your opinion on TechChats content! We always love to hear from our community.

Happy Steeming 🚀

welcome here and enjoy with steemit

upvote and resteemed... Good idea...

Welcome to steemit ^_^ Looking forward to the poems.

Thank you so much for using our service!

Help us grow by delegating to us! 100sp, 500SP, 1000SP, ANY SP

You just received 10.18% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76