@polebird Vlog: 🌎Ideas for repurposing and recycling! There's only one earth, be proactive! 🌏

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Today's dtube video, I talk about something that I'm very passionate about...

Recycling and repurposing!



^click image to watch in dtube

Guest starring my pup Watson - he's back by popular demand for his first appearance on a dtube vlog! Also my bird Sunshine who apparently didn't want to be on the video makes an appearance as well. Haha, watch the video to see.

Screen Shot 2018-02-21 at 12.29.39 AM.png

Anyways, the ideas for repurposing that I present in the video today are ideas that I use in my own daily life. We use so many materials and produce so much waste in our lifetime that I believe every bit counts and adds up when you be proactive in the quest to reduce waste. Earth is beautiful and deserves our consideration.

IMG_4928_2.jpg

I challenge my fellow Steemians to be active participants!

Please leave your own ideas for repurposing and recycling down in the comments below. I would love to hear how you incorporate this into your own lives. And do let me know if you try any of the ideas on my vlog out! :) Thank you so much for watching!

cartwheel.gif

Love,
Jess

P.S. I know it's not Earth Day or anything, but shouldn't we treat every day like Earth Day? Our environment is so precious! ❤️❤️❤️


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Give you a huge shout out on my daily dtube show!

Thanks so much! :)

Glad you posted this! Every little bit does count... actually my first (and so far only...) post was musing about things I can try doing related to this

  • When shopping, if I already have a bag, ask them to not give another bag and have all the new clothes snuggle together
  • After washing hands, consider my next destination; if it's outside, then I skip the paper towel because hands air dry in a few minutes anyway
  • Hoard napkins from restaurants if they were given to me (pretty sure they'd get trashed otherwise)...
  • Composting is the best thing I can do and it's easy because in my area there's compost and recycling and trash. So I don't have to have a garden, I just put the compostables in a bin and it's taken to a massive composting facility
  • And calling out my local supermarkets for having plastic bag-specific boxes for recycling those
  • This point will likely be very controversial; I avoid eating meats like beef in particular. I wouldn't say everyone should eat no beef; but I would say that the demand for beef is too high at this time and is driving very destructive forces around the world. (like logging rainforests for cattle)

I love your point, "shouldn't we treat every day like Earth day?" I feel like I should do more but other than donating to foundations I'm basically thinking about these things without belonging to a community...

great tips @motordrive! HAHA I sometimes take the napkins that were already given too, might as well use them :P That's neat information about the composting facility.. I wonder if we have something like that in our area. I do have a garden, but I wasn't wanting to compost incorrectly and attract all the critters and flies lol.

I was looking at my garbage collector's website: http://wmnorthwest.com/redmond/ and it mentions a food or yard cart - so I looked into it some more and it's exactly what I was hoping for! A small bin that I can put food scraps in, but I still have to buy the compostable liner bags to put food in... anyway thanks to this, I only need actual garbage taken out once a month

Great post my friend, I love to recycle as much as possible. I recycle every gallon milk bottle into a flower pot for my plants and recycle all kitchen waste to garden compost which wonderfully includes all card board boxes and paper too. All my cans are given to a local lad who collects and gets a few cents for them. So all in all throw very little to the mainstream trash.

I'm so happy to hear that!! ;) I didn't realize you can compost cardboard.. how long does the process take to break it down? And, do you add the composting worms? Thank you for being so kind to the environment!

haha I love watson as a co-host xD too bad sunshine went away... Oh we do most of the things that you do xD and the stuff that we can't reuse well if possible try to sort it in the recycle bin, but yeah I don't like wasting... even energy, I always turn off lights we're not using at home

oh I'm glad to hear that! That's awesome that you guys are environment conscious! :) heheh yeahhh I wasn't expecting sunshine just to fly off!!

thats amazing!! i think its soo important!! you doing the best thing you can! I recycle all the stuff at home!

thanks for stopping by! Yes I try to do what I can, glad you are big on recycling too - that's awesome! <3

Hey polebird,i have recently bought a pair of bird same as you.

IMG_20180221_122014.jpg

awww yay! they are a pair of cuties :D

Yeah they are cute.
Can we be friends polebird.

I think the coolest repurposed item I ever saw was this chess board created from an old pile of rusted pipe ends and fittings destined for the junk pile.

Oh my gosh, how cool is that!!!!!!! So creatively 😎awesome

Wao!! wao! It is an incredible idea!

Yeah.... it's so hard. Amazon is so amazing and so convenient, and saves so much time... but their overpackaging of absolutely everything is hard to deal with. Even though we take cloth bags to the grocery store, I still feel like we produce way too much waste. I'm hoping to build a compost heap over the summer so at least my veggie scraps can be reused for us... and then build a garden so we can be a bit more self-sufficient.

Love the celebrity appearances!

Oo I was looking into compost heap for my garden but wasn’t sure if it would attract other critters or flies! And there are so many methods of composting to choose from. Let me know how it goes!

So in Melbourne I had a worm farm... which is a multi-leveled plastic box that you put the compost into the top, and take the good dirt out of the bottom. It was pretty cool, it didn't attract any flies but it did stink pretty bad. It was going well until we had a couple of 40 degree days (like 115) and my little guys cooked... so it definitely needs to be a super shady spot.

Big compost bins will attract flies and critters, so you really do want it as far from your house as possible.

Excelente vídeo. Muy buenas ideas de reciclaje. Gracias por compartir tu post!

de nada! :) gracias!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86