Busted for a Joint, I need your opinion.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

No, I didn't get busted. I did however spend all last week on jury duty.
What a great time that was!

After three and a half days of sitting and waiting, I was called up to serve on a
jury. Okay what would this case be? Some mass murder, or maybe an armed
robbery. Possibly a bank holdup.

Well it was none of those. The big case I was picked to in judgement on was
a girl caught smoking a joint. Yes hours and hours of people's time and tax
payer dollars were being spent to prosecute a girl for one joint.

joint.jpg

We as juries sat for a day and a half listening to the two attorneys argue back and fourth
over this case and all I could think was what colossal waste of time this was. Yes she technically
broke the law because possession of any amount of Marijuana in Georgia is a crime. But a trial for
$7 worth of pot, really! And if found guilty then what? A fine and community service.

busted.jpg

I think we have to use some common sense here and treat a case like this the same as say a traffic violation.
If someone is caught (not in a car) smoking or in possession of a joint or two then take the dope and write them a
ticket. What's the point of wasting thousands and thousands of dollars on a court case?

cop.jpg

Let me know what you think. Leave a comment with your opinion.
And don't forget to upvote if you like this blog.

Sort:  

Nice post! I agree, a total waste of time and taxpayer's cash. If a person is smoking or in possession of a joint or two, allow him to go on his way unmolested, for his 'crime' is victimless and his peaceable actions should be the business of no one but himself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72