Brainstorm Solutions

in #life7 years ago

I'm a PC Desktop Technician. That means I walk around the office, fixing computers on people's desks. Most of the time, I have to study the symptoms and try various solutions until I find one that works. Usually, a simple configuration change or a single action can resolve the issue. The tricky part is finding that one action or configuration change. In other words, in my job, I find solutions.

That's fine for technical problems, but for life's more persistent problems--personal weaknesses and interpersonal frictions--it's rare that you can simply "find" one solution that will suddenly eliminate the problem.

For example, if the problem is debt, what's the solution? Win the lottery? Wrong! Most people that win the lottery are more depressed than before, and many of them go further into debt! How about frugality? Cutting back on spending is part of the solution, not all of it. Add an increased income, help from an organization such as Consumer Credit Counseling, good budgeting, and a lot of patience, and most people can gradually climb out of debt. Notice that the problem doesn't have one solution, but several which have to be done simultaneously.

        

Here's another example: If the problem is tardiness, what's the solution? Getting up earlier in the morning? Wrong! I tried that without success. But, when I added a dual-alarm clock away from my bed, setting my clothes out the night before, going to bed earlier, leaving the house earlier, and addressing the fear that prevented me from arriving early (fear of boredom--a throwback to my high school days), then I started making progress in this area. (I still haven't overcome tardiness completely, though.) Again, one solution wasn't enough.

The moral is, stop searching for the one magical solution to your problems. Instead, brainstorm for a package of several solutions. Put them all into action at the same time, and you will start to see your problem get smaller. If you are having difficulty brainstorming, read books about your problem, ask a friend to brainstorm with you, or even seek professional help if necessary. Others will show you that you have more options than you think!

                   

 If you want to overcome a personal weakness or improve a human relationship, brainstorm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57