Why don't we take photos at funerals?

in #life6 years ago

This is a serious question, and one that I have thought about a few times this year. Unfortunately (I'm not sure if that is the right word) I have attended two funerals so far this year. Both have been for grandparents who lived good lives.

104302968-58a476913df78c4758683af9.jpg Source

I understand that sometimes circumstances are extremely tragic, and people don't want to remember those moments. But the bulk of funerals are a celebration of a life. Or at least they should be, in my opinion. For someone who has lived into their late 80s or 90s, contributed to life, perhaps raised a family, and hopefully left the world a better place, it should be a celebration that they were in this world. That they had a life, had this opportunity at life, and decided, they chose to do something with it.

The last two funerals I have been to were people who were faced with difficult circumstances, but chose to make the best of it. They chose to pursue their passions, and they chose to love their families. They chose to ensure that their children, grandchildren and great grandchildren learnt respect, humility, love and a strong work ethic. They both left this world a better place, for being here.

In my experience, people are generally the best versions of themselves at funerals. It's a time when we are faced with our own mortality, and that of our loved ones. We reflect on what life means. We reflect on love. We reflect on the type of life we choose to live. We reflect on what our legacy may be. It's one of the remaining moments in life where our minds are quiet, and our hearts are open.

I hope at my funeral people are smiling, happy, laughing, and remembering a life well lived by a man who believed in love. A man who believed in the best in people. I hope my legacy is a bunch of people who loved me, for who I am. I hope my legacy is the many lives that are better for having known me.

I chose to decline payout on this post

Sort:  

I think this is inappropriate. In any case, I consider a funeral not an event that you want to remember for a long time and, after some time, look through photographs from the funeral. The ideal funeral ceremony for me is quiet, calm, without frills and luxury. This is what I consider direct burial from Newrest Funerals to be. This is so far the most budget option that I've found, and in fact it is quite enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69262.51
ETH 3679.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22