To Be or Not To Be Busy: A Tale About Priorities

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been the kind of busy that makes you feel like you deserve a medal, a pat in the back and public recognition?
You know, the kind of busy that makes you feel like you just beat Big Boss or that you are Horatio at the end of Hamlet?
That busy that butchers to-do lists and and conquers accomplishments like you are Genghis Khan? You feel so accomplished, you might as well build an empire too, while you are at it.
That kind of busy that puts a bounce in your step and although you are tired, you high five yourself before you go to bed with a smile on your face...

Hamlet1.jpg
Me looking at my to-do list (Hamlet: Source)

Well, that is not the kind of busy I have been lately. I have been the other kind of busy;
The one that leaves you exhausted and unaccomplished
The kind of busy that feels like I'm only checking off boxes from other people's to do list, while mine keeps growing and growing
The busy that makes me feel like I am on the wrong side of the Mongul warlord's sword
I might as well be Ophelia...
After one too many sighs before bed, all this busyness made me think about priorities:

"You make time for what you value" - I don't know who said but I'm sure it is someone people should listen to

In my mind, I have all my priorities straight. I mean, I started the year with a vision board, I'm practically a Pinterest board personified. My vision board has things like "learn a new language:" et oui, je suis un genie ( I only started 3 weeks ago) and be healthier, which I did great for about 40 days, and then I ate cake and haven't stopped since... And when I take a look at how busy I have been but how little I have actually accomplished for myself, it makes me think

Do I not value the things I think I do?

I can't even blame Murphy for this (bummer! I love passing on the blame). Earlier this week, I was worn out, I needed a break and I needed to do house chores, I was running out of clean undies and I haven't taught my cat how to mop the floors yet. Everything seemed to be piling on. I took a break, a much needed break. I took a break from something that I actually really enjoy, which is my Wednesday night women's Bible study, and sure I got a lot done that night and went to bed semi-early, felt a small sense of accomplishment mixed with a mild sense of "I missed out on something I care about". Looking back, the things that had preoccupied my mind and time prior to me needing a break, were not all so paramount as I originally thought.

As much as I think I am Wonder Woman, I can't make time for everything. Trust me, I tried. So I'm learning to prioritize, which gathering from this post you can surmise that I'm not best at. I'm giving the good ol' college try... but like, not really because I haven't been to college and goodness, I'm sure prioritizing is as hard are going to college, but I wouldn't know. What I do know is that I'm getting off track here... Priorities.

  • What I believe - Faith
  • What I want to accomplish - Short term goals
  • What I want out of life - Long term goals

All my priorities have to follow this hierarchy -- or at least I would like to think it does. I would like to think that most of what I do is in accordance to what I believe, and that all my steps are moving me closer to my objectives. When in actuality I'm just fighting really hard between who I want to be and who I am. You see, prioritizing is more than the order of your to-do list; it is setting into motion who you want to be. I can sit here and type to you that learning to sew is one of my priorities -- because reasons and cosplay -- and just because it is on my vision board and I tell people that this is what I want, it will not make me a seamstress (just practically one).

"I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do... For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing." -
Romans 7:15, 18, 19

The struggle is real. Prioritizing is hard. Being busy is tiring, however, once you have prioritized, not everything that is keeping you busy is necessary or beneficial. Anyways, keep on keeping on, my friends!

Thank you for reading, you're the true MVP here!

Hamlet3.jpg
Me after I am done with my to-do list (Ophelia: Source)

Sort:  

Wow, I was all revved up to say "You are KICKING MURPH'S A$$!!!"
...then I read on :'(
It will get better, Prac! Trust Me on this...

It is better! not perfect but much better. Thanks! :)

Good way of prioritising things that are truly important. I am completely lost on my long-term life goals. I don’t know anymore what I’m striving to achieve next or what I should work towards. That’s a downside of achieving one’s life goals too early in life. Maybe I should have been more ambitious, when setting them in the first place :))

First of all, kudos to you for achieving your goals early! And Never too late to make new life goals :) I know it did!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Sure thing!

Congratulations @practicallyapro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62