Presenting my ROOFTOP MINI BOTANICAL GARDEN

in #life6 years ago (edited)

img1523767622822.jpg

I was raised in the province during my childhood, I was in an environment which was surrounded with plants, domestic and farm animals. My grandfather was a farmer. When I was in the province, I used to plant ornamental plants and vegetables because we have a big backyard. Planting on our backyard was my hobby during my childhood because I wasn't allowed to go out playing with my neighbours. There were no smartphones during my childhood.

Life in the province is mostly having a chance to have backyard wherein you can take good care of animals like carabao, cow, goat, pigs, chicken and dogs. You can have a nice garden too, wherein you can plant ornamental plants and vegetables also. Here you can eat daily fresh fruits, vegetables and fish.

When I grew and started my own journey, I left our province and started to live here in the city.
Life in the city is quite different than that of the province. It’s so rare that you’ll be able to see a lot of natural resources and scenery but more likely of the buildings and cars all around. Unlike in the provinces. Our place now has no big backyard. Our room was located at rooftop. I really miss my first hobby which is planting.

Because I really miss planting, my husband and I got an idea so that I can continue my hobby which is planting, We gathered empty big bottles. We digged soil from the vacant lot near us. I bought some vegetables seed, while the others were from the seed of the vegetables that we ate. Like squash, melon, bell pepper, tomatoes and etc.

We started planting on the empty big bottles that we gathered, We planted the seeds and after several days our plants grow so fast and I am so happy to see them every morning on our rooftop, everytime our neighbours look up, they are amazed, because we managed to plant even our house is located at the rooftop

PRESENTING MY VEGETABLES PLANTS

  • This is our MELON and when we harvested it, it was very juicy and sweet.

FB_IMG_1520401556924.jpg

FB_IMG_1520395556439.jpg

FB_IMG_1523768423113-1.jpg

FB_IMG_1523768394923-1.jpg

FB_IMG_1523768403350.jpg

  • My CAMOTE Tops, this is one of my favorite vegetables. A good source of iron. I even took a photo when I harvested it and cook it as Camote Tops Salad I just boiled the leaves then put some tomatoes, onions and salt or fermented fish sauce (bagoong isda) on it. Yum

FB_IMG_1520401742953.jpg

img1523768030290.jpg

  • My SQUASH , I also like this vegetable, I ate the tops, the flowers, same procedure the way I cook the CAMOTE tops Salad

FB_IMG_1520395249823.jpg

FB_IMG_1520395254852.jpg

img1523767939659.jpg

  • My CALAMANSI (Lime), I bought this plant for 250php, it was very small when I bought it, and now it grows bigger and it has so many fruits during summer.

FB_IMG_1520395560807.jpg

  • My STRING BEANS the seeds were from our province ABRA
    my aunt brought it when she had her vacation in our province. I wasn't able take photos when I harvested the fruits, I remember I harvested 16pcs long string beans and I put it in my PINAKBET

FB_IMG_1520401633534.jpg

  • My BITTER GOURD (ampalaya), My favorite of all vegetables.

FB_IMG_1520401642345.jpg

FB_IMG_1520401627099.jpg

FB_IMG_1520715848981.jpg

1sitaw2-1.jpg

  • My LADY FINGER (okra)
    I love this vegetable when you just boil or steam it and dip it in fermented fish sauce (bagoong isda)

20180418_054609.jpg

  • My GRAPES this one was planted by my husband, from the grapes that we ate, we just try to plant the seeds and wonder if it will grow and yes it did. We're both hoping that it will bear fruits someday and I will feature it here.

20180418_054542-1.jpg

  • My MALABAR SPINACH *(alugbati) I also love this vegetable, this is also rich with iron.

20180418_054526.jpg

  • My BELL PEPPER the seeds were from the bell pepper that we used in our previous recipe.

20180418_054458.jpg

On my next article I am going to feature my ornamental and air plants together with my flowering and non-flowering plants that I have in my Botanical Garden at our rooftop

That's it for now my Steemian friends, I am so delighted to show to the community my plants. I believe that if you really love or like something you'll going to find a way to achieve it, just what I did regarding on my hobby, even our place is not really advisable for gardening. I managed to have my mini Botanical Garden with the help and support of my husband.

#life #plants #gardening #botanical #family #photography #dailyphotography #vegetarian #vegan #organic #steemit #steemph

#steemitfamilyph
FB_IMG_1516630338810.jpg

#steemph
ra-moon-ra.png

#steemitpowerupph
received_1853148331371080.gif

Sort:  

Urban farming😂😂😂 ganyan din kami kahiy nasa city marami kaming tanim na gulay..😂😂

@darstar133 feature your plants here on steemit para makita ko rin.

This is so refreshing to see. Dito kasi kahit spring na nag snow pa rin.

Saang part po ba kayo ng mundo?

Ah ok po! Hindi po bale malamig naman po ang klima nyo dyan, dito sa Pilipinas ngayon sobrang init, marami na namang series of heatstroke.

Nakakasawa din minsan lalo na kapag below zero temperature. Ou nga balita ko nga. Ingat kayo dyan, always have a water with you to stay hydrated.

Thank you so much for the reminder. Ingat din po as well

Very innovative and organic lifestyle! Kudos and more power!

Thank you so much for dropping by. Everytime I see my plants, they gave so much joy to my heart. They are my stress reliever and ofcourse they satisfied my tummy too 😂

Oh i love it sis! If I have a chance to plant my own, I will do it because in that way we are sure that it's really organic.

Yes sis, I am 100% sure that I will eat a chemical free vegetables aside from giving me joy everytime I see them growing so fast. I'd rather dream having a big backyard than a big house. 😁

Creativity matters, it's nice to see people who can grow their greens in the middle of the city, you're amazing and keep on doing that stuff...

Thank you for dropping by sir @otom, my grandfather who stands as my father taught me how to grow plants during my childhood. Living in the city really hard to find a space to grow plants, luckily I have a supportive partner who helped me to grow plants on our rooftop.

Wow! Galing.. pareho tayo ng hobby day... keep it up.. maganda climate dyan. Resteemed and upvoted.

Nakakaaliw po talagang maghalaman, meron din po kaming collection ng orchids and flowering plants, medyo mahirap lang yung place namin kase nasa rooftop po.

That's a lovely and innovative way of bringing your love for planting into the urban landscape. Great job! 👏

Oh thank you very much for the appreciation. I got this passion of planting from my late grandfather since he was one of the most hardworking farmer in our community before.

Ang galing sis gusto ko yan nkkganda paligid pos may mailuluto ko lagi

Tama sis, maganda dyan sa inyo kase malalaki mga space dyan, unlike dito sa metro manila dikit-dikit mga bahay

Congratulations @ra-moon-ra! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you 🎉😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68960.63
ETH 3748.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68