Mr. Rain Adds Motor to the Grain Mill (photos and video)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


Though I absolutely LOVE to grind my flour by hand because I enjoy the workout it gives to my arms, as my life gets more and more busy with skirt and apron orders, gardening and preserving foods, caring for my chickens, keeping up on the house, cooking and baking from scratch, and making all our own health, personal care, and beauty products, Mr. Rain decided it was time to refurbish an old Packard motor he found and install it on my Country Living Grain Mill.

Snapshot 3 (9-13-2017 7-43 AM).png

I have to say that I am very happy, what normally takes me hours now only takes me a few minutes to do and I no longer will need to freeze my flour once ground just to stay ahead, I can now grind it when I need it so it is very fresh and warm for making my all my breads.

O yes, and the motor is run by solar power so we are not using any public electricity to run it! :D

The Packard motor after cleaning and painting

Snapshot 2 (9-13-2017 7-42 AM).png

Cutting off a bolt to fit for installation

Snapshot 1 (9-13-2017 7-41 AM).png

Taking measurements for motor mount and bolt placement

Snapshot 4 (9-13-2017 7-47 AM).png

You can also watch the video at the top of this post to see just how he did it.

Happy Wednesday everyone!

~Heidi

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

Wow. An excellent job. Now you'll be able to have a few minutes freed up so you can do something else that needs your attention. Extra bonus, it runs on solar! It is so good to have a handyman on tap! lol

Right, right, and right! haha!

I have that mill and absolutely love it. It sure would be nice to have the electrified option for times when power is available.

It really is a great mill, we have had it for a few years and I have always ground by hand but it is sure nice having the motor and being able to run it off solar :)

Have wanted that mill for a long while, and the motor makes it even better. Thanks for the post.

It really is a great mill and worth the investment :)

I love that you have a grain mill. I've thought and thought about it....

Awesome!

And if the motor fails, it still can be worked in normal fashion!

We have this mill and its the best one made on the market in our opinion. It serves as our backup mill and Tim attached a motor to ours too. And like you, we run it on a 12 volt battery powered by solar. Resteemed!!

It is a great mill, built like a tank right here in my own state even! They just sent us a peanut butter auger so we are going to give that a try soon. Thanks Zac!

Great looking mill. Having the ability of being human and electric power is nice!

Thats AWESOME

Wow, that is so cool! I need to do something similar! Great idea guys!

What a great idea! I love the concept of it being able to be used like normal in the event of a power outage (as pointed out by @deanlogic ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62875.98
ETH 2948.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55