You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Observe your interests everywhere

in #life5 years ago

If you're interested in looking at the design process in games, did you know this new trend called #blocktober? It's like inktober, but for gamedevs. The things they're showing is the "blockout" stage of their games. It was created back in 2017 by Naughty Dog's designer.

Go to this post that I wrote a year ago, if you're interested to know more.

I need to learn to work with normal map too. Normal map is... black magic, that's what it is XD I know I haven't started in game development yet and I think I'm still far away from that, but learning it sooner would be good. You good luck with your learning as well! I'm looking forward to see more of your 3d creation.

Sort:  

I didn't know about this trend, thank you for telling me about it, it's gonna be useful to look at all those levels and figure out how others are working and how they are optimizing everything to work better.

And agreed, normal maps are great, and I wish there would a software that could generate them a lot better than what's already available out there. But, because that's not the case, we just need to learn how to create good normal maps by hand if we want our models to look good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63658.84
ETH 3310.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92